It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Databases: Search Tips
These electronic databases provide resources for searching business topics, trends, company profiles.
Conjuctions (aka - Boolean Operators) help broaden or narrow your subject when searching
And: Narrow your searcy by looking for one term AND another. Example: "dogs and cats" - Results will have both dogs and cats
Or:Expand your search by looking for one term OR another Example: "dogs or cats" - Results may have either dogs or cats
Not: Limit your search by looking for one term, but NOT another. Example: "dogs not cats" - Results will have only dogs, not cats
quotations marks to search for an exact phrase (search for those words when
they appear together).
“embryonic stem cell”
and Truncation Symbols enable you to search for variations of words
1.Use ? (a
question mark) to replace each unknown letter from a word. This symbol is
useful if you are unsure of the spelling of a word.
·Example:Typing ne?twill retrieve results containing the words next, neat, or nest.
2.Enter the root of a word followed by * (an asterisk) to find all words with the same root. It can be
used to find both the singular and plural forms of a word.
·Example: Typing comput* will retrieve results containing the words computer or computing.
allow you to narrow the resources you want to search for
Select limiters to narrow your
search.Examples of limiters include:
·full text (of abstracts and/or
·journal type (peer reviewed)
·material type (book, article,
Remember that the more limiters you
choose, the fewer results you will get.
Be sure to type the subject word or phrase in separate fields for the
best possible return of articles. Example: Type Autism in one field
with And from the drop box and Vaccines in the next field.
Keyword vs. Subject
vs. subject searching
Keyword searches will bring up articles
wherever that word appears in the database (in the articles, subjects, publications,
abstracts, authors, etc.).
Subject searches will bring up only
articles to which a specific subject (term or phrase) has been assigned; it
searches only the subject field.
databases have a subject search option and sometimes a thesaurus to help you find
the right terms to use in your search.
Brief Outline on Searching Business Databases
BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE
UNIQUENESS OF BSC
Suggest a Subject Terms - this box has a checkmark by default and will retrieve the screen in the thesaurus corresponding to the term entered. Serves to narrow or broaden the topic and will place the selected terms in the search process
One must remove the check is the decision is to search directly without going to the thesaurus.
ENTERING TERMS – OPTIONS
Use the suggest subject terms method with the thesaurus - crime
Select White Collar Crime
Keyword approach-enter kyw crime
Subject approach-two methods
Select the Narrow by Subject in column on left of page - select Fraud; then select update. This will combine Fraud with "white collar"
SelectSearch Field Option and scroll to SU to narrow White Collar from a kyw to subject approach
Enter a term representing a perspective to the original term. May add to more than two lines.Ex White Collar, add Fraud and then on the third line add identity.
Entering additional terms as instructed above will narrow the scope and thus limit the results
Selecting Full Text will limit the results to online full text articles
Selecting a date range, publisher, peer reviewed or publication type are further means of limiting results.
Before performing a search one may limit the search from the initial search screen by placing a check in the boxes of the limiters or entering information for some selections.
Click on the Company Profile tab
Browse or enter company name
Results: Detail chart of information or Datamonitor report
PERSONAL ACCOUNT AND USE OF FOLDERS
Click“Sign in o my EBSCO Host”and your name, and pin and other requested information
This personal account provides a place for storing your research via the folders you can create
Click on the folder icon located by eacharticles that you would like to read or store
Click on the folder icon at the top of the search screen will retrieve the page for manipulation of your folders.Then click on the link New Folder and create and name the folder.You may create more than one folder.
Place a check in the box by any article on the page that captured the articles of interest that you clicked on the folder by the article in your search results.
Select “Move” to place articles that you check in to the named or selected folder.
You can save searches and request alerts through your EBSCO Host account
Select the search history link located under the search boxes in order to view previous searches, refine or combine previous searches.
Click on the Publication tab at the top of the search screen will enable one to select a specific magazine/journal .
Enter the desired title and then click on “Search within this publication” and read articles from a specific issue
Other option - check the box for the title and click ADD. Then click Search at the top. The search will retrieve all articles from the selected journal.
Next step - enter the desired subject/topic terms in succeeding lines. Remove the check from the suggested subject therm.
The search will retrieve all articles on the specific topic from the specified magazine.
BUSINESS & COMPANY RESOURCE CENTER
Four areas for searching
Company profiles and information
Basic search for articles
Advanced Search for articles
Enter company name, ticket symbol, industry code, product
Retrieved information gives two methods of accessing information
Left side column divides articles by Financial data, legal, management, people, product, sales, statistics, strategy
The top features tabs for financials, histories, investments, rankings, products, industry overview
Search by SIC or NAICS, or enter description of industry. May browse NAICS, SIC
Information retrieved from Gale encyclopedias includes the industry snapshot, leaders, current conditions and further readings.
Suggest Advanced Search
May search in the fields of keywords, subject, title, date, abstract
May limit results to full text, peer reviewed, newswires, magazines and journals
List sources box
Lists the databases from which Business & Company Resource Center draws the information
Cites the type of information gathered - brand names, corporate chronologies, detailed information about the compnay, investment information and more.