LibGuides: Mathematics Resource Guide: Journals and Databases

Journal Articles

Be sure to use the main library search button (INDY) to find periodicals that may be full text in a database in our collection. INDY will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.

Journal articles contain information about historical topics not covered in books, or they give detailed information about a topic that a book on the subject may not discuss. Dissertations contain detailed scholarship by doctoral students on topics for which there might not yet be books or journal articles. Databases provide digital resources on specific topics and are generally more authoritative, accurate, and comprehensive than most simple web browser searches on basic search engines.

SpringerLink This link opens in a new window

SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers 2,580 fully peer-reviewed journals and 43,690 books online. It also allows you to search the journals by discipline (such as Mathematics) and within each discipline, you can narrow your search by subdiscipline.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Over 8179 scientific and scholarly journals (various subjects and languages) are available through this site. Almost 4039 of the journals are searchable at the article level. You may browse by title, subject, or keyword (click on "search articles" in the column to the left).

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect also has searchable domains including Mathematics, as well as subdomains within the mathematics field. They have more than 1,400 titles in their mathematics domain.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Arts & Science Collections I - XV and Life Sciences Collections are available for your research needs. JSTOR allows you to "Browse by Subject" and includes a robust list of Mathematics journals, books, and research reports.
Proquest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is recognized worldwide because of its comprehensive coverage, high-quality information, and rigorous editorial control. The database is the definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

General Reference

Cambridge Core with Histories This link opens in a new window
"Cambridge Core is a brand new platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content. Our book and journal content has been brought together for the first time on Cambridge Core: a sophisticated, high-performance replacement for Cambridge Journals Online and Cambridge Books Online." On the home page, you can "Browse Subjects" and choose the "mathematics" category.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, mathematics, medicine, and law. You can use the "Subject" tab on the home page to choose "Science and Mathematics" resources. From there you can choose "Mathematics" and search within their subtopics.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
Gale E-Books is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Portions of the books and articles can be downloaded to your reader as a PDF. Follow instructions in the Help Guide tab on the home page.