Search Library Catalog
Welcome!
σπούδασον σεαυτὸν δόκιμον παραστῆσαι τῷ θεῷ, ἐργάτην ἀνεπαίσχυντον, ὀρθοτομοῦντα τὸν λόγον τῆς ἀληθείας.
Accurate New Testament exegesis demands an understanding of Koine Greek, the language in which the NT was originally written. This guide lists resources available at the Mack Library for Greek students of all levels.
Selected BJU Greek Courses
- ALG 101: Elementary Greek IIntroduction to the phonology, vocabulary, grammar and syntax of biblical Greek.
- ALG 102: Elementary Greek IIReinforcement and development in the basic principles of Greek grammar and syntax.
- ALG 201: Intermediate Greek IDevelopment of working knowledge of the vocabulary, grammar, and syntax of the Greek New Testament. Includes translation of selected passages.
- ALG 202: Intermediate Greek IIReinforcement and continued development of a working knowledge of the vocabulary, grammar and syntax of the Greek New Testament. Includes translation of selected passages.
- SNT 621: Foundations for Greek ExegesisExtensive review of Greek fundamentals, with translation of a variety of New Testament passages. Introduction to exegetical thinking, with readings and exegesis projects. Semi-remedial in nature, especially suited for students who feel moderately lacking in readiness for Methods of Greek exegesis.
- SNT 622: Methods of Greek ExegesisRapid review of Greek fundamentals, followed by translation of a variety of New Testament Texts. Readings and exercises in standard methods of Greek exegesis, culminating in the writing of two exegesis papers. Students with marginal mastery of Greek fundamentals should consider first taking SNT 621 Foundations for Greek Exegesis.
Required Textbooks
A Handbook for New Testament Greek: Forms and Syntax - Bob Jones University Greek faculty.
Call Number: 487.4 H19138
ISBN: 9781591667049
The Greek Handbook covers basic Greek grammar, syntax and vocabulary for four semesters of study. The authors of this fourth edition draw on decades of combined experience in teaching Greek at the university level. The material is suitable for suitable for college students or advanced high school students. - Publisher.
Greek New Testament, 4th ed. - K. Aland, ed.
Call Number: 225.4 B471aL 2001
ISBN: 9783438051103
The UBS4 GNT is available in a number of editions:
9783438051103—Standard Hardback
9783438051134—Hardback with dictionary*
Leather bindings of the UBS4 text are also available.
*Although the dictionary included in this edition is permitted, the Greek department will not always accept the glosses it provides for translation assignments. Instead, students should refer to Gingrich's Shorter Lexicon.
Shorter Lexicon of the Greek New Testament - F. Wilbur Gingrich
Call Number: REF 487.3 G433
ISBN: 0226136132
Abridgement, with some revisions of: A Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament and other early Christian literature / Walter Bauer. 2nd ed. / rev. and augm. by F. Wilbur Gingrich and Frederick W. Danker.
LibGuides on Religion
Biblical Commentaries (Technical)
- Last Updated Jun 29, 2011
Lists technical, conservative commentaries for the books of the Bible.
- Last Updated Jun 29, 2011
Lists technical, conservative commentaries for the books of the Bible.
Biblical Exegesis
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
Software and online resources for studying the biblical text.
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
Software and online resources for studying the biblical text.
Biblical Hebrew
- Last Updated Jan 26, 2011
Resources for Hebrew (and Aramaic) students at all levels.
- Last Updated Jan 26, 2011
Resources for Hebrew (and Aramaic) students at all levels.
Children's Ministry Resources
- Last Updated Apr 28, 2011
A comprehensive list of outreach ministry resources (such as Sunday School materials, flannelgraph, puppets, etc) available for checkout, including photos.
- Last Updated Apr 28, 2011
A comprehensive list of outreach ministry resources (such as Sunday School materials, flannelgraph, puppets, etc) available for checkout, including photos.
Denominations
- Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
This guide provides assistance in locating both the history and doctrine of religious denominations in America.
- Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
This guide provides assistance in locating both the history and doctrine of religious denominations in America.
Fundamentalism File
- Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
An overview of the resources and services available at the Mack Library Fundamentalism File.
- Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
An overview of the resources and services available at the Mack Library Fundamentalism File.
Fundamentalism, History of
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2011
Lists sources useful for studying the history of American Fundamentalism.
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2011
Lists sources useful for studying the history of American Fundamentalism.
Inspiration of the Bible
- Last Updated Sep 20, 2011
Key resources supporting the verbal inspiration of the Scriptures
- Last Updated Sep 20, 2011
Key resources supporting the verbal inspiration of the Scriptures
Intertestamental History
- Last Updated May 2, 2011
The intertestamental period, also called the second temple period, is the time between the writing of the last Old Testament book and the beginning of the events described in the New Testament.
- Last Updated May 2, 2011
The intertestamental period, also called the second temple period, is the time between the writing of the last Old Testament book and the beginning of the events described in the New Testament.
Missions
- Last Updated Mar 30, 2012
This guide covers the history of missions, cultures, methodologies and sponsoring organizations
- Last Updated Mar 30, 2012
This guide covers the history of missions, cultures, methodologies and sponsoring organizations
New Testament Greco-Roman Backgrounds
- Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
Introductory material on the Greco-Roman world, including its history, society, culture, religion, and literature, in relation to the expansion of early Christianity and the New Testament documents.
- Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
Introductory material on the Greco-Roman world, including its history, society, culture, religion, and literature, in relation to the expansion of early Christianity and the New Testament documents.
Patristics
- Last Updated Aug 8, 2011
Patristics is the study of the church fathers, the earliest Christian writers from the contemporaries of the apostles to the seventh or eighth century.
- Last Updated Aug 8, 2011
Patristics is the study of the church fathers, the earliest Christian writers from the contemporaries of the apostles to the seventh or eighth century.
Philosophy
- Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
This subject guide suggests the best sources to being your study of philosophy and philosophers. Use the reference sources to get an overview of philosophers’ work, philosophical schools, and philosophical concepts.
- Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
This subject guide suggests the best sources to being your study of philosophy and philosophers. Use the reference sources to get an overview of philosophers’ work, philosophical schools, and philosophical concepts.
Rare Bibles at Mack Library
- Last Updated Nov 21, 2011
Lists rare Bibles stored in the Library's Jerusalem Chamber and Special Collections.
- Last Updated Nov 21, 2011
Lists rare Bibles stored in the Library's Jerusalem Chamber and Special Collections.
Reference Resources
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
Variety of resources in print and online available through Mack Library's Reference Department
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
Variety of resources in print and online available through Mack Library's Reference Department
Seminary Project Labs - Greek & Hebrew fonts, Turabian, and Zotero
- Last Updated May 7, 2012
Guides you through the installation and configuration of Greek and Hebrew fonts, the use of the BJU Seminary Turabian wizard.
- Last Updated May 7, 2012
Guides you through the installation and configuration of Greek and Hebrew fonts, the use of the BJU Seminary Turabian wizard.
Sermon Index
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2011
Indexes sermons in books at the Mack Library by preacher and Scripture passage. Includes call numbers and page references.
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2011
Indexes sermons in books at the Mack Library by preacher and Scripture passage. Includes call numbers and page references.
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
License

This work by Duncan Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
You may reproduce any part of it as long as credit is included. I encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.




Loading...
