Search Library Catalog
Overview
The Fundamentalism File is a resource center with over 5,000 different subjects and over 118,000 items of information relating to:
- History and nature of Fundamentalism
- Important popular discussions and resources from within Fundamentalism
- Information on individuals and organizations of religious significance
- Subjects of religious interest to Christians
- General
information on
- Ethical issues (e.g., abortion, capital punishment, homosexuality)
- Social trends/issues (e.g., divorce, immorality, violence on television)
- Church/state affairs (e.g., politics and Christianity, public schools and religion, separation of church and state)
- Practical problems with religious significance (e.g., church planting, church work with specific needs groups, preaching).
Information is gathered and indexed from major scholarly articles, brochures, pamphlets, and unpublished resources.
This resource center houses manuscript collections pertinent to the history of Fundamentalism and Fundamentalist approaches to religious and social issues. Collections currently available include:
- G. Archer Weniger (1915-82) papers, California Fundamentalist leader who published The Blu-Print and was deeply involved in the Conservative Baptist Association and later the Fundamental Baptist Fellowship
- W. O. H. Garman (1899-1983) papers, pastor and advocate on behalf of Fundamentalists in the military chaplaincy through the Associated Gospel Churches
- Gilbert Stenholm (1915-89) papers, long-time administrator at Bob Jones University.
In addition, research reports and other documents are produced by the Fundamentalism File.
The Fundamentalism File came into existence in 1978 at the suggestion of Dr. Bob Jones Jr., who wanted a resource center for tracking information on current religious and theological topics, creating “a history of religion in our time.”
Requesting Information
The Fundamentalism File is open to the public via:
- Personal visits
- Email (ffile@bju.edu)
- Telephone (864-242-5100 x.6020)
The Fundamentalism File associates will work with your research request and pull the materials for your research. There is a nominal charge for photocopies and pdf files are also available upon request based upon copyright restrictions.
Copyright Restrictions
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies of other reproductions of copyrighted material.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a copy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order, if in its judgment the fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.
Search the Fundamentalism File (on-campus only)
About the Library
- Last Updated Jun 21, 2012
Are you looking for information on a particular topic, or a specific fact?
108 views this year
- Last Updated Aug 31, 2011
The Mack Library staff is here to serve you.
397 views this year
- Last Updated May 2, 2011
Summarizes the main headings of the Dewey Decimal System.
127 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 26, 2011
Policies and procedures for Distance Learning Students.
0 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
An overview of the resources and services available at the Mack Library Fundamentalism File.
467 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 7, 2011
Describes special exhibits and collections in the Library.
294 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 11, 2013
Explains the services offered throughout the Library by various departments.
1,506 views this year
- Last Updated May 10, 2013
Since library navigation can be confusing, we have tried to create printable cards, booklets, and videos for your convenience.
39 views this year
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
Lists the Library business hours during the semester and holiday periods.
3,180 views this year
- Last Updated May 8, 2013
Lists circulation policies, loan periods, and fine information.
231 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
Describes services offered by the Library staff.
1,588 views this year
- Last Updated Oct 31, 2012
Panopto videos created to present areas of the library with audio.
61 views this year
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
The Mack Library subscribes to over 100 databases that include e-journals, e-books, abstracts, and full-text.
34,587 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Variety of resources in print and online available through Mack Library's Reference Department
199 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 11, 2012
A quick summary of the services available to you at the BJU Mack Library
71 views this year
LibGuides on Religion
- Last Updated Jun 29, 2011
Lists technical, conservative commentaries for the books of the Bible.
321 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
Software and online resources for studying the biblical text.
77 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Resources for Greek students at all levels.
150 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 26, 2011
Resources for Hebrew (and Aramaic) students at all levels.
81 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
A comprehensive list of outreach ministry resources (such as Sunday School materials, flannelgraph, puppets, etc) available for checkout, including photos.
49 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
This guide provides assistance in locating both the history and doctrine of religious denominations in America.
11 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
An overview of the resources and services available at the Mack Library Fundamentalism File.
467 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2011
Lists sources useful for studying the history of American Fundamentalism.
71 views this year
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
Key resources supporting the verbal inspiration of the Scriptures
5 views this year
- Last Updated May 2, 2011
The intertestamental period, also called the second temple period, is the time between the writing of the last Old Testament book and the beginning of the events described in the New Testament.
193 views this year
- Last Updated May 3, 2013
This guide covers the history of missions, cultures, methodologies and sponsoring organizations
80 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Introductory material on the Greco-Roman world, including its history, society, culture, religion, and literature, in relation to the expansion of early Christianity and the New Testament documents.
83 views this year
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Patristics is the study of the church fathers, the earliest Christian writers from the contemporaries of the apostles to the seventh or eighth century.
34 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2013
This subject guide suggests the best sources to begin your study of philosophy and philosophers. Use the reference sources to get an overview of philosophers’ work, philosophical schools, and philosophical concepts.
25 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
Lists rare Bibles stored in the Library's Jerusalem Chamber and Special Collections.
304 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Variety of resources in print and online available through Mack Library's Reference Department
199 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 5, 2013
Guides you through the installation and configuration of Greek and Hebrew fonts, the use of the BJU Seminary Turabian wizard.
536 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
Indexes sermons in books at the Mack Library by preacher and Scripture passage. Includes call numbers and page references.
54 views this year
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
