Skip to Main Content

Research Writing Resources: Print Resources

A catalog of tips, tricks, and hints for the practice of research and writing.

Book: Single author

Bibliography
Daniel Walker Howe. What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1993-2007. New York: Oxford University Press, 2007.

Note
21.  Daniel Walker Howe. What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1993-2007. (New York: Oxford University Press, 2007), 268.

Book: Two to three authors

Bibliography
 Elkins, Stanley, and Eric McKitrick. The Age of Federalism. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993.

Note
21. Stanley Elkins and Eric McKitrick, The Age of Federalism (New York: Oxford University Press, 1993), 542.

Book in a later edition

Bibliography
Barzun, Jacques, and Henry F. Graff. The Modern Researcher. 4th ed. San Diego: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1985.

Note
 13.       Jacques Barzun and Henry F. Graff, The Modern Researcher, 4th ed. (San Diego: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1985), 183.

Book with multiple volumes

Bibliography
Copleston, Frederick. Mediaeval Philosophy, Augustine to Scotus. Vol. 2 of A History of Philosophy. Westminster, MD: Newman Press, 1962.

Copleston, Frederick. A History of Philosophy. 9 vols. Westminster, MD: Newman Press, 1946-75.

Note
 11.       Frederick Copleston, Mediaeval Philosophy, Augustine to Scotus, vol. 2 of A History of Philosophy (Westminster, MD: Newman Press, 1962), 487.

Book with editor, translator, or compiler instead of author

Bibliography
Mouw, Richard J., and Mark A. Noll eds. Wonderful Words of Life: Hymns in American Protestant History and Theology. Grand Rapids, MI: W. B. Eerdmans, 2004.

Note
8.     Richard J. Mouw and Mark A. Noll, eds., Wonderful Words of Life: Hymns in American Protestant History and Theology (Grand Rapids, MI: W. B. Eerdmans, 2004), 54.

Book with editor, translator, or compiler in addition to author

Bibliography
Hegel, G. W. F. Outlines of the Philosophy of Right. Translated by T. M. Knox. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2008.

Note
12.  G. W. F. Hegel, Outlines of the Philosophy of Right, trans. T. M. Knox (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2008), 153.

Section within a book

Bibliography
 Gardner, Philip. "E. M. Forster." In British Writers, edited by Ian Scott-Kilvert, 6:397-413. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1983.

Note
33.  Philip Gardner, "E. M. Forster," in British Writers, ed. Ian Scott-Kilvert (New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 1983), 6:403.

Article in a journal

Bibliography
Milder, Robert. "The Other Hawthorne." New England Quarterly 81, no. 4 (2008): 559-595.

Note
19.  Robert Milder, "The Other Hawthorne," New England Quarterly 81, no. 4 (2008): 585.

Article in a journal accessed online

Bibliography
Coleman, Aaron. "‘A Second Bounaparty?': A Reexamination of Alexander Hamilton during the Franco-American Crisis, 1796-1801." Journal of the Early Republic 28, no. 2 (2008), http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=31703785&site=ehost-live.

Note
12.       Aaron Coleman, "‘A Second Bounaparty?': A Reexamination of Alexander Hamilton during the Franco-American Crisis, 1796-1801," Journal of the Early Republic 28, no. 2 (2008), http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aph&AN=31703785&site=ehost-live.

Magazine article

Bibliography
Kissinger, Henry. "An End of Hubris." Economist, December 18, 2008.

Note
33.       Henry Kissinger, "An End of Hubris," Economist, December 18, 2008, 46.

Magazine article accessed online

Bibliography
Larmer, Brook. "The Real Price of Gold." National Geographic, January, 2009, http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2009/01/gold/larmer-text.

Note
17.       Brook Larmer, "The Real Price of Gold," National Geographic, January, 2009, http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2009/01/gold/larmer-text.

Newspaper article

Bibliography
Mufson, Steven. "White House Moves Toward Auto Bailout." Washington Post, December 13, 2008, A section, Maryland edition.

Note
23.       Steven Mufson, "White House Moves Toward Auto Bailout," Washington Post, December 13, 2008, A section, Maryland edition.

Book review in a journal

Bibliography
Gausted, Edwin. Review of God's Ambassadors: A History of the Christian Clergy in America, by E. Brooks Holifield. Journal of American History 95, no.3 (2008): 809-810.

Note
15.       Edwin Gaustad, review of God's Ambassadors: A History of the Christian Clergy in America, by E. Brooks Holifield, Journal of American History 95, no.3 (2008): 809-810.

Book review in a newspaper or magazine

Bibliography
Morgan, Edmund S. "Jefferson & Betrayal." Review of Friends of Liberty: Thomas Jefferson: Tadeusz Kościuszko, and Agrippa Hull: A Tal eof Three Patriots, Two Revolutions, and a Tragic Betrayal of Freedom in the New Nation, by Gary B. Nash and Graham Russel Gao Hodges. New York Review of Books, June 26, 2008.

Note
29.       Edmund S. Morgan, "Jefferson & Betrayal," review of Friends of Liberty: Thomas Jefferson: Tadeusz Kościuszko, and Agrippa Hull: A Tale of Three Patriots, Two Revolutions, and a Tragic Betrayal of Freedom in the New Nation, by Gary B. Nash and Graham Russel Gao Hodges, New York Review of Books, June 26, 2008, 47.

Thesis or dissertation

Bibliography
Chatfield, John Hastings. "‘Already We Are a Fallen Country': The Politics and Ideology of Connecticut Federalism, 1797-1812." PhD diss., Columbia University, 1988.

Note
43.       John Hastings Chatfield, "‘Already We Are a Fallen Country': The Politics and Ideology of Connecticut Federalism, 1797-1812" (PhD diss., Columbia University, 1988), 121.