LibGuides: Research Writing Resources: Home

Resources

The Oxford Guide to Library Research by Thomas Mann
ISBN: 9780199931064
Publication Date: 2015-03-27
The information world has undergone drastic changes since the publication of the 3rd edition of The Oxford Guide to Library Research in 2005, and Thomas Mann, a veteran reference librarian at the Library of Congress, has extensively revised his text to reflect those changes. This book willanswer two basic questions: First, what is the extent of the significant research resources you will you miss if you confine your research entirely, or even primarily, to sources available on the open Internet? Second, if you are trying to get a reasonably good overview of the literature on aparticular topic, rather than just "something quickly" on it, what are the several alternative methods of subject searching - which are not available on the Web - that are usually much more efficient for that purpose than typing keywords into a blank search box, with the results displayed byrelevance-ranking computer algorithms?This book shows researchers how to do comprehensive research on any topic. It explains the variety of search mechanisms available, so that the researcher can have the reasonable confidence that s/he has not overlooked something important. This includes not just lists of resources, but discussionsof the ways to search within them: how to find the best search terms, how to combine the terms, and how to make the databases (and other sources) show relevant material even when you don't know how to specify the best search terms in advance. The book's overall structuring by nine methods ofsearching that are applicable in any subject area, rather than by subjects or by types of literature, is unique among guides to research. Also unique is the range and variety of concrete examples of what to do - and of what not to do.The book is not "about" the Internet: it is about the best alternatives to the Internet - the sources that are not on the open Web to begin with, that can be found only through research libraries and that are more than ever necessary for any kind of substantive scholarly research. More than anyother research guide available, this book directly addresses and provides solutions to the serious problems outlined in recent studies documenting the profound lack of research skills possessed by today's "digital natives."
The Modern Researcher by Jacques Barzun; Henry F. Graff
ISBN: 0155055291
Publication Date: 2003-10-08
This classic introduction to the techniques of research and the art of expression is used widely in history courses, but is also appropriate for writing and research methods courses in other departments. Barzun and Graff thoroughly cover every aspect of research, from the selection of a topic through the gathering, analysis, writing, revision, and publication of findings presenting the process not as a set of rules but through actual cases that put the subtleties of research in a useful context. Part One covers the principles and methods of research; Part Two covers writing, speaking, and getting one's work published.
The Craft of Research by Wayne C. Booth; Gregory G. Colomb; Joseph M. Williams
ISBN: 9780226065663
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
With more than 400,000 copies now in print, The Craft of Research is the unrivaled resource for researchers at every level, from first-year undergraduates to research reporters at corporations and government offices. Seasoned researchers and educators Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams present an updated third edition of their classic handbook, whose first and second editions were written in collaboration with the late Wayne C. Booth. The Craft of Research explains how to build an argument that motivates readers to accept a claim; how to anticipate the reservations of readers and to respond to them appropriately; and how to create introductions and conclusions that answer that most demanding question, “So what?” The third edition includes an expanded discussion of the essential early stages of a research task: planning and drafting a paper. The authors have revised and fully updated their section on electronic research, emphasizing the need to distinguish between trustworthy sources (such as those found in libraries) and less reliable sources found with a quick Web search. A chapter on warrants has also been thoroughly reviewed to make this difficult subject easier for researchers Throughout, the authors have preserved the amiable tone, the reliable voice, and the sense of directness that have made this book indispensable for anyone undertaking a research project.
Quality Research Papers by Nancy Jean Vyhmeister
ISBN: 9780310274407
Publication Date: 2008-02-07
Nancy Vyhmeister's Quality Research Papers is fast becoming a standard reference textbook for writing research papers in the field of religion and theology. It takes the student from the beginning assignment of a paper through the research phase to the finished paper. This second edition gives improvements and added material for such things as the expanding field of online research and doing church-related research in a professional manner. Resources for doing research are updated throughout the book.
Zotero by Jason Puckett
ISBN: 9780838985892
Publication Date: 2011-06-01
Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators is the first book-length treatment of this powerful research tool developed by the Center for History and New Media at George Mason University (VA). This book is written for Zotero end users, librarians and teachers. Part One introduces Zotero and presents it in the context of bibliography managers and open source software, Part Two explains in detail how to use the software in research and writing, and Part Three provides information for those who teach and support Zotero, with instructional best practices, examples, support tips and advanced techniques. "Puckett draws on his deep understanding of Zoteros technology to provide clear, concise guidelines and tips for beginners and experts alike. As a bonus, he convincingly argues why you -- yes, you -- need to be using research software and why Zotero is the best choice." says Sean Takats, co-director of Zotero, Assistant Professor of History at George Mason University and Director of Research Projects at the Center for History and New Media. A perfect guidebook to a robust open access research tool that allows the user to manage all aspects of bibliographic data, Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators is essential for librarians and teaching faculty alike. Due to the clarity of explanation and the depth of application, its usefulness extends to undergraduate and graduate students as well.
The Elements of Style by William Strunk
ISBN: 9781612931104
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
The Elements of Style is a prescriptive American English writing style guide comprising eight "elementary rules of usage", ten "elementary principles of composition", "a few matters of form", a list of forty-nine "words and expressions commonly misused", and a list of fifty-seven "words often misspelled". In 2011, Time magazine listed the writing style-guide as one of the 100 best and most influential books written in English since 1923. Cornell University professor of English William Strunk, Jr., wrote The Elements of Style in 1918, and privately published it in 1919, for in-house use at the university. In The Elements of Style (1918), as a professor of English, William Strunk concentrated on specific questions of usage and the cultivation of good writing with the recommendation "Make every word tell"; hence, the 17th principle of composition is the simple instruction: "Omit needless words."
The Elements of Style by William Strunk; E. White; William Strunk
ISBN: 9780205309023
Publication Date: 1999-07-23
You know the authors' names. You recognize the title. You've probably used this book yourself. This is The Elements of Style, the classic style manual, now in a fourth edition. A new Foreword by Roger Angell reminds readers that the advice of Strunk & White is as valuable today as when it was first offered.This book's unique tone, wit and charm have conveyed the principles of English style to millions of readers. Use the fourth edition of "the little book" to make a big impact with writing.

Characteristics of a Good Research Paper

Research and Writing

Five Characteristics of a Good Research Paper

1. A good research paper defends a thesis. Your paper must possess a thesis.

Your paper should not merely share a narrative or be a regurgitation of facts. You must state that which the rest of the paper sets out to prove. Generally it shows up in the introduction and the conclusion. In the introduction you introduce your thesis and the methodology by which you intend to prove it. In the conclusion, you restate your thesis and how you have proven it in the preceding portion of the research paper.

2. A good research paper displays significance. In general, your paper must answer the question, "so what?"

In some way, the writer must press upon his or her readers the urgency of the topic under consideration. Why should this even matter to the reader? This question is important in holding the interest of the reader.

3. A good research paper defers to the ongoing conversation. Specifically, your research paper must contribute to or fit into the broader conversation involving the topic.

Your paper is not the first and last treatise to be written on your topic; therefore, it behooves you to show how your topic fits into the ongoing conversation. Ask the question, "How does this relate to what was said before?" and "How does this influence the direction for future research?" Granted, oftentimes the undergraduate paper will merely champion the cause of some already developed thesis, but even the significance of this borrowed thesis should be borne out in the paper.

4. A good research paper demonstrates well documented research (i.e parenthetical notes, endnotes, or footnotes). Your paper must show your research "tracks."

Research builds upon research, so, help out those who come after you. You should provide references to those ideas in your paper that are not common knowledge and not your own. You need to leave these in a sort of "breadcrumb" fashion so that subsequent researches can follow your research trail either to confirm, contradict, or contribute to your thesis. Help those who come after you by documenting your research.

5. A good research paper demands a clear and concise writing style. Your research paper must not bore your reader.

Use active voice with action verbs. Avoid passive voice and being verbs. Organize your paper into a well-constructed presentation of your topic coupled with the argument for your thesis. Try to say things in fewer words. Avoid verbosity (i.e. wordiness). More words and longer words do not necessarily contribute to the clarity of your paper. Well-chosen words that reflect a firm grasp of English vocabulary, in both denotative and connotative senses, remains the firm ally of the writer. Learn the precise meaning of words and their exact shade of meaning in order to supply the most fitting prose in your paper. For a handy grasp of this sort of writing consult William Strunk and E. B. White's (remember Charlotte's Web and The Once and Future King?) The Elements of Style. If you want to get more philosophical about this, consult Richard Mitchell's Less Than Words Can Say.

Subject Guide

Shawn Smith

Email Me

Contact:

864-242-5100