Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Exercise Science Library Research
How do I find the databases?
BJU students must use their CAS (campus login) user name and password in order to access databases. It is the same user name and password used to access email.
*From the intranet, select Academics and choose Libraries
*Click Online Resources, and then choose Find a LibGuide.
*Choose the Go to A to Z List in the blue box on the right.
*Select a database from the Alphabetical Listing. *Enter CAS user name and password when prompted after clicking on the database.
Search BJU Mack Library Catalog
Search Mack Library
INDY (Information DiscoverY at BJU Mack Library)
Database and Internet Resources
- Be sure to check Full Text Finder for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. Full Text Finder will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
- When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
- If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
- If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.
Full Text Finder
Full Text Finder lists all electronic journals and ebooks cited in electronic databases subscribed to by Mack Library in addition to our print titles. Periodical titles and ebooks may be searched alphabetically by title or by subject.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
"Everyday Health provides health conscious consumers with the comprehensive, trusted information and tools they need to lead a better life." (About page)
Gale One-File: Health and Medicine
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
High Wire Press
"The users of HighWire hosted publications include researchers, clinicians, students, and other scholars seeking the best online research from a vast database of full-text scholarly, high-impact materials. The HighWire portal offers advanced searching and browsing capabilities and tools, creating an alternative means to find and make sense of information from over five million full-text articles; create keyword, citation or author alerts; and download citations across all the content HighWire hosts." About page
"MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free." About Page
We have just added the full text archives purchased by PASCAL to include 1950 - 2011. Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. It provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends in science. Includes 1950 to the current issue.
Rittenhouse R2 Digital Library
The R2 Digital Library is a web based database available from Rittenhouse Book Distributors. It offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web based platform.
Gale in Context: Science
Comprehensive curriculum-oriented database of reference and periodical content covering Life Science, Physical Science, Earth and Space Science
- More than 30 reference titles
- More than 300 periodicals, both general and scholarly
The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Includes ScienceNOW and Science 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles.
A portal for science information from government agencies. Includes a subject directory to key science web sites and a database search engine.
Mack Library subscribes to the ScienceDirect College Edition Journal Collection in the Health and Life Sciences. ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. There are over 2.75 million articles from 1994 to the present.
Scientific American Archive
We have the Archives from 1948 - 2011 just purchased by PASCAL. For over 150 years, Scientific American has been the place to turn for understandable, authoritative reporting on the spectacular developments that have taken place in every field of science. Here members of libraries and other institutions can access the complete editorial pages of the magazine published since January 1948 in high-quality PDF files.
Sport Discus with Full Text
This database is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. SPORTDiscus with Full Text is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers 2,580 fully peer-reviewed journals and 43,690 books online.
Tuck Advancing Better Sleep
"Who We Are
Tuck aims to improve sleep hygiene, health, and wellness through the creation and dissemination of comprehensive, unbiased, free resources. Boasting the largest collection of aggregated data on sleep products on the web (more than 300,000 customer experiences from thousands of unique sources), Tuck aims to power consumers, sleep professionals, and the troubled sleeper looking for answers. Check back often for updates and expanded sleep product information." About page
Science behind the news. Maintained by the University of Wisconsin.