LibGuides: United States History: Articles

How do I find the databases?

BJU students must use their CAS (campus login) user name and password in order to access databases. It is the same user name and password used to access email.

Library website
*From the intranet, select Academics and choose Libraries

*Click Online Resources, and then choose Find a LibGuide. Choose the Go to A to Z List in the blue box on the right.

*Select a database from the Alphabetical Listing.

*Enter CAS user name and password when prompted after clicking on the database.

Google Scholar

Journals and Magazines in Print Format

The Journal of American history by Mississippi Valley Historical Association
Call Number: Periodicals
Publication Date: 2006-Present
American Heritage by American Heritage
Call Number: Periodicals
Publication Date: 1951-2012
American History by Cowles History Group
Call Number: Database access
Publication Date: 1994-Present
American History Illustrated by National Historical Society
Call Number: Database access
Publication Date: 1969-1994

Journals in Electronic Format

Be sure to check INDY for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. Full Text Finder will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and sent to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,800 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,600 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals.
Media: Online database
Access: Campus-wide and Internet
Content: Abstracts; Full TextThe database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,460 journals.
Ebsco Ebook collection This link opens in a new window
Offering a unique, interdisciplinary approach to U.S. History and Culture, Sharpe Online Reference (SOLR) explores the broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues that have shaped the nation from colonial times to the present day. This collection of links provides direct access to nearly 650 carefully selected and vetted Web sites.
Now part of EBSCO E-books
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
20th Century Historical videos included in History Reference Center® is the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research. The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers, such as Branden Publishing, Compass Point Books, Houghton Mifflin, Lerner Publishing Group, Mason Crest Publishers, Morgan Reynolds Inc., Oliver Press, Oxford University Press, Rourke Publishing LLC., Salem Press, Stackpole Books, Toucan Valley Publications and more.

Winona Newspaper Project
"The Darrell W. Krueger Library at Winona State University is pleased to make available an online archive of three late 19th century and early 20th century Winona newspapers. This archive includes available issues of the Winona Argus, the Winona Daily Republican and the Winona Republican Herald. The archive includes issues through 1960 and over 150,000 pages of text." Home page
more...less...
"The newspapers can be read page by page, issue by issue or you may search by keyword. Please note, however, that due to the poor quality of the original, some pages are difficult to read and keyword searching may not find every occurrence of a word." Home page