It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This project of the Library of Congress is digitizing newspapers and making them available online. Includes digitized versions of some papers and information about the publication and holdings of nearly every newspaper published in the United States.
"Underwritten by a "We the People" grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities, The Digital Library on American Slavery is a cooperative venture between the Race and Slavery Petitions Project and the Electronic Resources and Information Technology Department of University Libraries at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro." Home page
"Designed as a tool for scholars, historians, teachers, students, genealogists, and interested citizens, the site provides access to information gathered and analyzed over an eighteen-year period from petitions to southern legislatures and country courts filed between 1775 and 1867 in the fifteen slaveholding states in the United States and the District of Columbia.
Information in the petitions can be accessed in three ways. To search the petitions by keyword, select geographic and date criteria then enter a search term or phrase below. To search the database for specific named individuals, select the Search By Name tab. To see petitions associated with particular historical, legal, or cultural topics, select the Browse Subjects tab." Home page
In 1982, President Ronald Reagan asked Lee Iacocca, then Chairman of Chrysler Corporation, to head a private sector effort to raise funds for the restoration and preservation of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation (SOLEIF) was founded.
The Foundation's fundraising drive sparked a dramatic response. The American people contributed more than $500 million (and counting!) to the repair, restoration, and maintenance of these two great monuments to freedom. All funds for the Foundation’s projects have come from the American people – no government funds have been used.
"The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items
* published between 1473 and 1800
* mainly, but not exclusively, in English
* published mainly in the British Isles and North America
* from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries" Home page
"Coloured region contours, direct Google Earth links and other no elsewhere to find features make exploring the world easy as never before. Maplandia.com is here for you. Don't wait, explore the world today!"
Salem History is the online version of print reference works in history. The titles include Milestone Documents, The Decades Series, Great Lives From History, Great Events From History . The set Milestone Documents includes full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
Offering a unique, interdisciplinary approach to U.S. History and Culture, Sharpe Online Reference (SOLR) explores the broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues that have shaped the nation from colonial times to the present day. This collection of links provides direct access to nearly 650 carefully selected and vetted Web sites.
U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.
Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
Unlike other sources that only offer periodical or bibliographic information, this broad collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents and scholarly analysis includes:
•More than 185,000 reference articles, including the best titles from Macmillan Reference USA™, Charles Scribner’s Sons® and other top publishers
•Select articles from more than 95 new Gale reference titles not previously available
•613,000+ periodical articles from respected publications like Newsweek, American Heritage and The Historian
•Easy to search galleries containing more than 73,000 images and 1,500+ seals, maps and flags
•More than 9,100 viewpoint essays
•Nearly 5,000 primary documents
•Video and audio from NBC, NPR and other reliable sources
•The ability to cross-search World History in Context with a subscription to both products