It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women's History: Articles
A guide to sources about women's history, both as its own subject and as a part of other fields of history.
Be sure to check INDY for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. INDY will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,800 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,600 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals.
Media: Online database Access: Campus-wide and Internet Content: Abstracts; Full TextThe database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,460 journals.
Offering a unique, interdisciplinary approach to U.S. History and Culture, Sharpe Online Reference (SOLR) explores the broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues that have shaped the nation from colonial times to the present day. This collection of links provides direct access to nearly 650 carefully selected and vetted Web sites.
U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.
Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
Unlike other sources that only offer periodical or bibliographic information, this broad collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents and scholarly analysis includes:
•More than 185,000 reference articles, including the best titles from Macmillan Reference USA™, Charles Scribner’s Sons® and other top publishers
•Select articles from more than 95 new Gale reference titles not previously available
•613,000+ periodical articles from respected publications like Newsweek, American Heritage and The Historian
•Easy to search galleries containing more than 73,000 images and 1,500+ seals, maps and flags
•More than 9,100 viewpoint essays
•Nearly 5,000 primary documents
•Video and audio from NBC, NPR and other reliable sources
•The ability to cross-search World History in Context with a subscription to both products
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
Women's Studies International™ covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Coverage includes more than 871,000 records and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present.
his database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, web sites & web documents and grey literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented.
Women's Studies International includes the following database files: Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, Women's Studies Database, Women Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.
World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to ensure that the events, movements and individuals that defined, informed and shaped world history are covered with a sense of balance. For example:
•European history recounts the events that shaped the continent and defined international relations and global history — including two world wars, the Cold War, genocide and the rise and fall of Communism
•Asian history recounts the events from Bronze Age China to modern India, including the events of the 20th century that revolved around Communism in China and revolution in South East Asia
•African, Indian and Latin American history coverage includes the end of colonization in Africa and India, as well as the political and social movements in Latin America
Many periodicals that cover American history will also have articles about women. The following are well-known journals that publish about American history: