Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases listed on this page are those that are most likely to be helpful in studying African American history. See the library's website for a list of all of our databases.
Electronic Reference Works
Gale in Context: Biography
Gives biographical information on more than one million people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. Combines 250,000 biographies from Gale Group sources.
Cambridge Core with Histories
"Cambridge Core is a brand new platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content. Our book and journal content has been brought together for the first time on Cambridge Core: a sophisticated, high-performance replacement for Cambridge Journals Online and Cambridge Books Online." About page
Salem History is the online version of print reference works in history. The titles include Milestone Documents, The Decades Series, Great Lives From History, Great Events From History . The set Milestone Documents includes full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
Print Reference Sources
Notable Women in American History by
Call Number: 016.92072 Ad19a
Publication Date: 1999-08-30
Includes brief biographical sketches of notable women, with annotated bibliographies of recommended biographies.
Reader's Guide to American History by
Call Number: 016.973 R2273
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Brief historiographical sketches on various topics in American history. Includes several articles on topics in women's history and important women.
Encyclopedia of Women in American History by
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2002-01-03
This set is perhaps the most useful source for women’s history in the United States. It comprises three volumes, each covering a different period in American history. Each volume has three parts: a set of essays, topical and biographical articles, and a collection of documents. Each also contains a selected bibliography. The final volume also contains a biographical index for the complete set.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by
Call Number: 305.4203 Ox25
Publication Date: 2008-01-23
This encyclopedia attempts a synthesis of world history and women’s history. It therefore contains articles on topics of interest from each field, including many that take a comparative perspective. Some of the articles are biographical, but most are topical. The first volume contains a lengthy chronology. The last volume contains an index and a topical outline of entries.
Feminists Who Changed America, 1963-1975 by
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 2006-09-22
This narrowly focused work offers over two thousand biographies of second-wave feminists. Many of the biographies are based on first-hand accounts.
Black Women in America by
Call Number: 920.72 B5618
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
Since the first edition was published, a new generation of American black women has flourished, demanding this landmark reference be brought up to date. Women such as Venus and Serena Williams, Condoleezza Rice, Carol Mosley-Braun, Ruth Simmons, and Ann Fudge have become household names for their remarkable contributions to sports, politics, academia, and business. In three magnificent volumes, Black Women in America, second edition celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and covers the new research the first edition helped to generate. Includes more than 150 new entries, plus revisions and updates to all previous entries; Contains 500 illustrations, many published here for the first time; Includes over 335 biographies, many newly prepared for this publication; Offers sidebars on interesting aspects of the history and culture of black women; Provides a bibliography for each entry, plus a major bibliographical essay; Features a chronology and a comprehensive index.
Extraordinary Women of the Medieval and Renaissance World by
Call Number: 920.72 Ex87
Publication Date: 2000-09-30
This works “moves beyond . . . familiar women to discuss a range of ‘unsung’ women,” and so it omits biographies of important figures such as Elizabeth I, Isabella of Castile, Joan of Arc, Lady Jane Grey, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Heloise, and Christine de Pizan. Despite this serious flaw, the work does contain lengthy articles about minor figures in Europe, Asia, and Africa.
Women Rulers Throughout the Ages by
Call Number: 920.72 J1358
Publication Date: 1999-09-23
This encyclopedia is not comprehensive in the women rulers that it includes, and its articles are not detailed. It does include women rulers from ancient times to the present. Unless one is looking specifically for basic information about a women ruler, Commire’s Women in World History is probably a better source. Indexes by name and region are included.
Native American Women by
Call Number: 920.72 N213 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-12
Includes indexes listing entries by “areas of specialization,” decade of birth, state/province of birth, and tribal affiliation.
Dictionary of Women Artists by
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
Includes biographical sketches of artists, with lists of works, exhibitions, and writings. The first volume contains a series of essays surveying women artists. Contains many photographs of artwork.
Women in the American Civil War by
Call Number: 973.7082 W8425
Publication Date: 2007-12-03
Includes biographical and topical articles, as well as a series of essays to give context to the entries.
Subjects: About the Mack Library
, BJU Course Guides
, Distance Learning
, How to Guides
, Science & Technology