Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AFT - American Federation of Teachers Historical Archive
"The American Federation of Teachers (AFT) historical collection consists of almost 100 years of historical records covering subjects that deal with US public education, tenure and academic freedom for K-16 teachers, civil rights, collective bargaining in the public sector and public employee unionism. The collection has documents from the national headquarters; over 30 affiliate locals and state federations of the AFT as well as 70 personal collections." About page
Buros Center for Testing
The Buros Institute has supported advancements in testing practice since 1938 by publishing candidly critical reviews to support the informed selection of commercially available tests. Providing audit and accreditation services, psychometric research, consultation, workshops, and contractual oversight, the Buros Institute helps organizations improve the the quality of their proprietary test development and pr
Classroom 2.0 is a free, community-supported network. We especially hope that those who are "beginners" will find this a supportive comfortable place to start being part of the digital dialog. If you feel that you are a beginner and want some extra help, please click here to join the Beginner Group as soon as you've registered.
Condition of Education
This website is an integrated collection of the indicators and analyses published in The Condition of Education 2000–2008. Some indicators may have been updated since they appeared in print.
"Through its grants to individuals and institutions, HHMI supports scientists and educators who seek to transform the way science is taught in schools, colleges and universities across the nation. Our grantees have created a wealth of resources that you can adapt to your own needs or use as inspiration for your own teaching." Educator page.
Digest of Education Statistics
The statistical highlights of the report provide a quantitative description of the current American education scene. Clearly, from the large number of participants, the number of years that people spend in school, and the large sums expended by educational institutions, it is evident that education is a high priority for the American people.
Doing What Works
"Our mission is to translate research-based practices into practical tools to improve classroom instruction." Home page
"Limited Availability of Full-Text Documents." Check the online site for more information.
"ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is a collection of references to information (dissertations, journal articles, pamphlets, multimedia, etc.) dealing with education. Some of this information is available in full text through the internet site. The site is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
Ken Burns Resources
Ken Burns website via PBS.org has teacher resources available to enhance his documentary programs
Know it All - SC ETV
Created by ETV for K-12 students, teachers, and parents, Knowitall.org is a free online collection of resources designed for classroom use. This educational web portal contains interactive sites, simulations, image collections, virtual field trips and streaming video that support and provide quality inquiry-based experiences for students on the Internet.
Funding for this project was provided by the S.C. General Assembly through the K-12 Technology Partnership consisting of the S.C. Department of Education, ETV, the State Budget and Control Board, the State Library, BellSouth, and the independent telephone companies.
Amazing links to New York Times articles by date.
Standards-based Math Activities
National Center for Education Statistics - NCES
An entity within the Department of Education, NCES is charged by Congress to collect, analyze statistics, and report on education in America.
National Writing Project
"The National Writing Project focuses the knowledge, expertise, and leadership of our nation's educators on sustained efforts to improve writing and learning for all learners." Mission statement
All the news that's fit to stream.
New Teacher Help
"Welcome to a professional learning community for new teachers!"
"The series of monthly webinars takes advantage of the power of social networking to help new teachers explore critical aspects of educating students. In a series of webinars, live chats, and online discussions, new (and even experienced teachers) will collaborate with each other on the challenges and rewards of teaching." Home page
Science and Technology of WWII
Timeline, lesson plans, and activities presenting the science and technology of WWII.
Statistical Abstract of the US Series
A US government publication, the Statistical Abstract of the US is the premier source for statistical information on every aspect of life in the United States, including population, crime, transportation, industry, business, media, and economics. The online version of the most current Statistical Abstract provides Adobe Acrobat versions of all the tables included in the print edition. Some back years' statistics are available.
Teach Now - NCAC - Alternative Teacher Certification
Alternative routes to teacher certification are state-defined routes through which an individual who already has at least a bachelor’s degree can obtain certification to teach without necessarily having to go back to college and complete a college, campus-based teacher education program.
"Teachers' Domain is an online library of more than 1,000 free media resources from the best in public television. These classroom resources, featuring media from NOVA, Frontline, Design Squad, American Experience, and other public broadcasting and content partners are easy to use and correlate to state and national standards." (About page)
Digitized magazines and ideas for teaching tolerance.
Freely available videos with transcripts
Subjects:About the Mack Library
, BJU Course Guides
, Distance Learning
, How to Guides
, Science & Technology