This guide is a collection of resources that gives students access to tools and resources that emphasize techniques associated with imaginative literature to represent actual experience, with forms including, among others, the memoir, the personal essay a
Gives biographical information on more than one million people throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines. Combines 250,000 biographies from Gale Group sources.
Search for biographical information of all members of Congress, including the Continental Congresses and Congress during the Articles of Confederation, by name, position, state, party, year, and Congress number.
Every life has a story. Biography.com captures the most gripping, surprising and fascinating stories about famous people. The last fateful day. The decision that changed everything. The moment of cheating death. The biggest break. The defining opportunity. The most shattering failure. The unexpected connection. With over 7,000 biographies and daily features that highlight newsworthy, compelling and surprising points-of-view, we are the digital source for true stories about people that matter. About page
"Cambridge Core is a brand new platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content. Our book and journal content has been brought together for the first time on Cambridge Core: a sophisticated, high-performance replacement for Cambridge Journals Online and Cambridge Books Online." About page
Salem History is the online version of print reference works in history. The titles include Milestone Documents, The Decades Series, Great Lives From History, Great Events From History . The set Milestone Documents includes full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
Biography Index: Past and Present is a trusted, biographical resource. Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing to produce a comprehensive biographical resource for students, scholars, media professionals, book clubs, and all researchers seeking biographical information.
This resource offers the in-depth, original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodicals coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators. Biography Reference Bank contains biographical full-text articles, page images, abstracts and articles from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.
Current Biography Illustrated offers the content of the printed monthly magazine Current Biography, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, in searchable, electronic format. Readers will be able to find accurate, up-to-date biographies drawing information from newspaper articles, magazine articles, and books. Students and patrons can search by name, profession, place of origin, gender, ethnicity, birth/death dates, titles of works and key words for more than 25,000 articles and obituaries.
In addition, profiles maintained in this database feature more than 19,500 images, and offer the subject's own views, attitudes and commentary as well as the commentaries of other journalists and colleagues.
Digital History is committed to providing high-quality historical resources for teachers and students for free and without advertising. We have been fortunate to develop partnerships with a number of archives and museums that share this vision and have granted us permission to draw upon their resources
The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. Over 200,000 items have been added so far.
In 1982, President Ronald Reagan asked Lee Iacocca, then Chairman of Chrysler Corporation, to head a private sector effort to raise funds for the restoration and preservation of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation (SOLEIF) was founded.
The Foundation's fundraising drive sparked a dramatic response. The American people contributed more than $500 million (and counting!) to the repair, restoration, and maintenance of these two great monuments to freedom. All funds for the Foundation’s projects have come from the American people – no government funds have been used.
"The International Mission Photography Archive offers historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, and the United States. The photographs, which range in time from the middle of the nineteenth to the middle of the twentieth century, offer a visual record of missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China, Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean." Home page
This link opens in a new window
