LibGuides: Academy Pre-College Resources: Home

Tour Handout

See the Virtual Tour LibGuide for a refresher on the Library or click on Walk Through Mack Library below.

Tour Handout
Workshop Handout
Use of databases connected via the Pre-College LibGuide
Walk Through Mack Library - nostalgia
Virtual Tour of Mack Library - revised

How do I find the databases?

BJA students must use their CAS (campus login) user name and password in order to access databases. It is the same user name and password used to access email.

Library website
*From the intranet, select Academics and choose Libraries
*Click Online Resources, and then choose Find a LibGuide.
*Choose the Go to A to Z List in the blue box on the right.
*Select a database from the Alphabetical Listing. *Enter CAS user name and password when prompted after clicking on the database.

Search BJU Mack Library Catalog

Search Mack Library

INDY (Information DiscoverY at BJU Mack Library)

Which database should I use?

Be sure to check INDY for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. INDY will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,800 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,600 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals.
Media: Online database
Access: Campus-wide and Internet
Content: Abstracts; Full TextThe database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,460 journals.
BrainPOP, Jr. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fun video and learning activities that engage young learners
For students in grades K-3
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes all the content of the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica, plus the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia for quick answers to everyday questions and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia, which is ideal for students in grades 5-9. In addition, a world atlas covers the geography, economies, and cultures of more than 215 countries.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy to use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 1000 videos.
Create concept maps for STEM topics; Comprehensive
Topic Pages; D-K Eyewitness series books on science,
health and medicine, technology, and engineering. STEAM
Jobs in and STEM Everyday book series
STEM Everyday series
CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Since its beginnings in 1974, the aim of CultureGrams has been to foster understanding and appreciation of the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing excellent content. Today the CultureGrams series is one of the most trusted and widely used cultural reference and curriculum products in the education, government, and non-profit arenas. In 2004, the CultureGrams product line was acquired by ProQuest, a global leader in collecting, organizing, and distributing value-added information to researchers, faculty, and students in over 160 countries.
200+ countries information on lifestyle, demographics,
health, economy; currency converter, time converter;
create-your-own data tables; natural resources
Discus: South Carolina's Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DISCUS funding is provided by the South Carolina General Assembly. This page shows the databases available to the public libraries. Discus is administered by the South Carolina State Library.
Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Gale E-Books This link opens in a new window
Gale E-Books is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Portions of the books and articles can be downloaded to your reader as a PDF. Follow instructions in the Help Guide tab on the home page.
Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills and information literacy
- More than 400 reference book titles and 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles
- Periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts and graphs
- Includes Lexile reading levels for periodical content
Gale Kids InfoBits This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text from 120 children’s magazines, reference sources
and newspapers; includes images and maps, science
experiments, and over 600 videos on science topics
Middle Search Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Middle Search® Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays.

Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia; New Oxford American Dictionary, 2nd Edition; Encyclopedia of Animals™; and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the volution of the English language over the last millenium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half an million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
EBSCO has added 61 new topics to Points of View Reference Center, bringing the total number of topics in the product to 343.
Primary Search (EBSCO) - Elementary aged students This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Teaching Books - Educators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Start enjoying 271,184 resources about children's and young adult books.

Tutorbot
Tutor Bot contains completely free online maths games where children can practice their mathematics skills. We feature over 100 different customisable games which we hope kids will find to be a fun and new way to improve their mathematics fluency, accuracy and speed.
Study SC
- This link opens in a new window
Website with links to South Carolina-specific web resources for K-12 homework help, projects and more
For elementary, middle school, and high school students and educators

Subject Guide

Shawn Smith

Email Me

Contact:

864-242-5100