It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering Resources: Resources
Resources available for engineering students at the university level.
*From the intranet, select Academics and choose Libraries
*Click Online Resources, and then choose Find a LibGuide.
*Choose the Go to A to Z List in the blue box on the right.
*Select a database from the Alphabetical Listing. *Enter CAS user name and password when prompted after clicking on the database.
Abstracts only. No subscriptions to these indexes.
"Founded in 1852, the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) represents more than 140,000 members of the civil engineering profession worldwide and is America's oldest national engineering society." About page
Access to full-text documents in IEEE Xplore are available in a number of ways:
•A broad range of institutional subscription options
•Subscriptions available only to IEEE members and IEEE society members
•Online purchase of individual documents (at discounted prices for IEEE members)
Science InContext Widget
New Science Books
Search BJU Mack Library Catalog
Search Mack Library
INDY (Information DiscoverY at BJU Mack Library)
Database and Internet Resources
Be sure to check Full Text Finder for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. Full Text Finder will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.
Full Text Finder lists all electronic journals and ebooks cited in electronic databases subscribed to by Mack Library in addition to our print titles. Periodical titles and ebooks may be searched alphabetically by title or by subject.
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,800 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,600 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals.
Media: Online database Access: Campus-wide and Internet Content: Abstracts; Full TextThe database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,460 journals.
"Through its grants to individuals and institutions, HHMI supports scientists and educators who seek to transform the way science is taught in schools, colleges and universities across the nation. Our grantees have created a wealth of resources that you can adapt to your own needs or use as inspiration for your own teaching." Educator page.
Must-have insight for every business decision.
Gartner, Inc. (NYSE: IT) is the world's leading information technology research and advisory company. They deliver the technology-related insight necessary for clients to make the right decisions, every day. Gartner offers the combined brainpower of 1,200 research analysts and consultants who advise executives in 75 countries daily.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
"GREENR focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. Both interactive and current, GREENR allows users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. A one-stop site, this resource provides news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics in highly accessible, visually appealing research areas, covering relevant categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, economic development. One of the things that makes GREENR so user-friendly, is it does not look like the typical database product." Gale
Multidisciplinary — dynamically updated content supports course curriculums in business, economics, history, law, science and other disciplines
Fair and balanced — GREENR covers various view points on relevant issues like energy management, healthcare and economic development
User-focused — GREENR was co-designed by an academic advisory board with end users in mind
Targeted — issue, organization and country portals provide access to targeted results
"The users of HighWire hosted publications include researchers, clinicians, students, and other scholars seeking the best online research from a vast database of full-text scholarly, high-impact materials. The HighWire portal offers advanced searching and browsing capabilities and tools, creating an alternative means to find and make sense of information from over five million full-text articles; create keyword, citation or author alerts; and download citations across all the content HighWire hosts." About page
"Spark your curiosity and enrich your scientific and technical research experience. MHEST.com is an innovative online complement to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition. You'll find regularly updated content including animations, videos, audio interviews, article commentaries, links to related sites, and more." Home page
We have just added the full text archives purchased by PASCAL to include 1950 - 2011. Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. It provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends in science. Includes 1950 to the current issue.
ScienceDaily is one of the Internet's leading online magazines and Web portals devoted to science, technology, and medicine. The free, advertising supported service brings you breaking news about the latest discoveries and hottest research projects in everything from astrophysics to zoology.
Mack Library subscribes to the ScienceDirect College Edition Journal Collection in the Health and Life Sciences. ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. There are over 2.75 million articles from 1994 to the present.
We have the Archives from 1948 - 2011 just purchased by PASCAL. For over 150 years, Scientific American has been the place to turn for understandable, authoritative reporting on the spectacular developments that have taken place in every field of science. Here members of libraries and other institutions can access the complete editorial pages of the magazine published since January 1948 in high-quality PDF files.
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source includes 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers 2,580 fully peer-reviewed journals and 43,690 books online.