Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Download this PDF version of the LibGuide for convenient printing or personal reference.
How do I find the databases?
BJU students must use their CAS (campus login) user name and password in order to access databases. It is the same user name and password used to access email.
*From the intranet, select Academics and choose Libraries
*Click Online Resources, and then choose Find a LibGuide.
*Choose the Go to A to Z List in the blue box on the right.
*Select a database from the Alphabetical Listing. *Enter CAS user name and password when prompted after clicking on the database.
The stacks contain many cookbooks—well over twelve hundred of them! You can browse the shelves with Dewey Decimal number 641, or you can search the library catalog. On the search page of the library website, select “subject” as your type of search, and enter the word “cookery.” You will see a list of subheadings that will direct you to cookbooks by the type of cuisine, the type of ingredients, or the method of cooking. For example, some of the subheadings you will find are “Cookery—Beef,” which lists four cookbooks dedicated to beef, and “Cookery—American—New England,” which lists two cookbooks of recipes from that region, and “Cookery—Barbecue,” which lists ten guides to barbecuing.
Search BJU Mack Library Catalog
Search Mack Library
INDY (Information DiscoverY at BJU Mack Library)
Reference works include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and almanacs. They are available in the reference section.
The Oxford Companion to Food by
Call Number: 641.3 D2811 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
A reference to global foods. Search for terms alphabetically, or see the subjectindex (xxi-xxvi) to find subjects by topic (e.g., nuts, savory dishes, national andregional cuisines).
The Food of the Western World by
Call Number: e-book
Publication Date: 1976-02-01
This encyclopedia offers paragraph-length descriptions of ingredients,techniques, and dishes.
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by
Call Number: 641.3003 Ox25
Publication Date: 2004-12-09
This encyclopedia offers the history of foods, ingredients, products, cookingtechniques, food producers and sellers.