Criminal Justice: Home

BJU students must use their CAS (campus login) user name and password in order to access databases. It is the same user name and password used to access email.

Whether you are researching the general area of law enforcement or specific topics including but not limited to policing, forensics, crime and criminals. investigations, crime prevention, this libguide will provide a foundation for understanding issues involved in law enforcement. Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full text is the "goto" database, however, one will also want to search Academic Search Complete and other subject specific databases in relation to law enforcement topics. 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE

MAJOR DATABASES

·         Criminal Justice Abstracts and Full text

·         Academic Search Complete

·         Business Source Complete if crime tied to the business world

ENTERING TERMS

1.    Using the index tab

·         Select Subjects

·         Enter term   - investigation/ investigative

·         Forensic -  couple pages    anthropology

·         Report writing  56

·         Ethics  (Ethics can become a subheading of most topics by adding ethics to the next box under the major search term in the advanced search method.

2.    Key Word   “crime scenes”   then add  perspective “investigations

·         Forensic  (operator “and”)  photography

3.    Limit keyword by Subject drop down window    -  forensic  7,558

·         Forensic and photography  126

4.    Subject approach on left column  -  Forensic and chemistry

CREATING YOUR ACCOUNT WITH EBSCO

• This personal account provides a place for storing your research via the folders you can create

• Click  “Sign in to my EBSCO Host”
• Click on create new account and enter  your name, and pin and other requested information
• Then click on the link New Folder and create and name the folder.  You may create more than one folder.
• GO TO SEARCH SCREEN AND DO A SEARCH
• Place a check in the box by any article on the page that captured the articles of interest that you clicked on the folder by the article in your search results.
• CLICK ON FOLDER ICON AT TOP OF PAGE.  This will take you to the folder page for the manipulation of your articles and folders
• Place a check in the box to highlight the article.
• Select “Move” to place articles that you check in to the named or selected folder.
• You can save searches and request alerts through your EBSCO Host account

LIMITING SEARCH RESULTS

·         Select SU field as area to search

·         Entering additional terms as instructed above will narrow the scope and thus limit the results

·         Employ the Subject Index or Thesaurus in the browser

·         Use the Thesaurus in the left column

·         Use the subject link in the left column

·         Select various limiters under Search Options  - date pub, peer reviewed, source type, full text, etc

PUBLICATION SEARCH

• Click on the Publication tab at the top of the search screen will enable one to select a specific magazine/journal .
• Enter the title of a magazine/journal in the browse box. 
• Click the desired title and then select year and issue.  After selecting issue then do following
• Check the box for the title and click ADD.  Then click Search at the top.  The search will retrieve all articles from the selected journal.
• Option to search within periodical
• Next step - enter the desired subject/topic terms in succeeding lines.  .
• The search will retrieve all articles on the specific topic from the specified magazine.