Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A non-commercial, educational web site sponsored by the American Institute of Biological Science.
Animal Diversity Web
An online database that collects the natural history, classification, species characteristics, conservation biology, and distribution information of thousands of species of animals. It includes thousands of photographs, hundreds of sound clips, and a virtual museum.
An interative enclyopedia of world animal life.
A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.
Entrez, the Life Sciences Search Engine
National Center for Biotechnology Information's access point for genome, protein, taxonomy, nucleotide, variation, and structure databases. Users can cross-search all databases from introductory page.
High Wire Press
"The users of HighWire hosted publications include researchers, clinicians, students, and other scholars seeking the best online research from a vast database of full-text scholarly, high-impact materials. The HighWire portal offers advanced searching and browsing capabilities and tools, creating an alternative means to find and make sense of information from over five million full-text articles; create keyword, citation or author alerts; and download citations across all the content HighWire hosts." About page
IUCN: International Union for Conservation of Nature
IUCN, International Union for Conservation of Nature, helps the world find pragmatic solutions to our most pressing environment and development challenges.
"The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories." In addition, over 30,000 images are available, as well as fact sheets, cultural significant plant information, and threatened & endangered lists.
SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive
This database contains 9 top ornithological journals with full-text beginning at the journals' start dates. The full-text does not include recent years.
Tree of Life Web Project
The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists from around the world. On more than 3,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their evolutionary history (phylogeny), and characteristics.
Key Newspaper Databases
Gale One-File: News
InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day's news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source™ Plus includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.
All staff articles are also included from many newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, Houston Chronicle, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), etc.
Covers discoveries in all fields of the physical, biological, earth and applied sciences.
Scientific American Archive
We have the Archives from 1948 - 2011 just purchased by PASCAL. For over 150 years, Scientific American has been the place to turn for understandable, authoritative reporting on the spectacular developments that have taken place in every field of science. Here members of libraries and other institutions can access the complete editorial pages of the magazine published since January 1948 in high-quality PDF files.
Associations and Organizations