21 sets of literary reference books (12,000 entries) from Salem's Masterplots line. All entries include ready-reference information and most include a bibliography. Information is divided into seven convenient indexes: Title, Author, Text, Locale, Genre, Subject, and Principal Characters.
May also be accessed online through "Online Resources" - "Databases, Alphabetical" - "Salem Literature"
"The NET Bible is a completely new translation of the Bible with 60,932 translators’ notes! It was completed by more than 25 scholars - experts in the original biblical languages - who worked directly from the best currently available Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek texts."
"This innovative CD-ROM makes the content of The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible truly portable and fully searchable! Search by Book of the Bible, Article Title, Article Body, Contributor, Illustration and more. You get the most complete coverage of theological topics. This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. This dictionary is based on the NRSV. You get unparalleled quality of information written by 900 scholars, experts in their fields, from 40 nations and a variety of perspectives and diverse theological commitments. This dictionary includes 7100 fresh, original articles. It also contains 1300 distinct cross-reference entries...."
Allows users to look at the world from a bird's-eye view or zoom in to a detailed map of a selected city. Gives information on the geography, culture, natural history, climate, and political history of selected locations. Statistics and geographical stories about areas of interest are also provided.
Contains approximately 200 titles in their entirety from the acclaimed Twayne's United States Authors Series. Offers criticism by scholars on hundreds of years of literature.
Location: Reference workstation #3
May also access as an online database by selecting "Online Resources" - "Databases, Alphabetical" - "Twayne's Writers Online"
Includes all the content of the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica, plus the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia for quick answers to everyday questions and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia, which is ideal for students in grades 5-9. In addition, a world atlas covers the geography, economies, and cultures of more than 215 countries.
Features learning levels that includes access to age-appropriate encyclopedias and related materials. Includes numerous search and browse options, as well as features showcasing current events, geography, biography, history, Britannica Blog, New York Times and BBC News.
"Cambridge Core is a brand new platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content. Our book and journal content has been brought together for the first time on Cambridge Core: a sophisticated, high-performance replacement for Cambridge Journals Online and Cambridge Books Online." About page
Content: Abstracts; Full Text
This site presents up-to-date encyclopedic-type information (government, people, disputes, military, etc.) on many countries, gathered and produced by the CIA. Includes maps, appendices (such as on International Organizations and Groups), and flags, among other features.
Since its beginnings in 1974, the aim of CultureGrams has been to foster understanding and appreciation of the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing excellent content. Today the CultureGrams series is one of the most trusted and widely used cultural reference and curriculum products in the education, government, and non-profit arenas. In 2004, the CultureGrams product line was acquired by ProQuest, a global leader in collecting, organizing, and distributing value-added information to researchers, faculty, and students in over 160 countries.
200+ countries information on lifestyle, demographics,
health, economy; currency converter, time converter;
create-your-own data tables; natural resources
Content: Index
Essay and General Literature Index, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, is a unique reference database that cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. More than 320 single and multi-authored volumes are indexed annually with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications.
Gale E-Books is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Portions of the books and articles can be downloaded to your reader as a PDF. Follow instructions in the Help Guide tab on the home page.
Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection features more than 545 titles from the following sets and series. Bloom’s Classic Critical Views, Bloom”s Guides. Bloom’s Literary Themes, Bloom’s Modern Critical Interpretation, Bloom’s Modern Critical Views, Bloom’s Shakespeare Through the Ages and Bloom’s How to Write About Literature.
Offering a unique, interdisciplinary approach to U.S. History and Culture, Sharpe Online Reference (SOLR) explores the broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues that have shaped the nation from colonial times to the present day. This collection of links provides direct access to nearly 650 carefully selected and vetted Web sites.
