LibGuides: Human Resources: Books

HR Books in Collection

Human Resources Kit for Dummies by Max Messmer; Harold Messmer
Call Number: e-book

ISBN: 9780470049303

Publication Date: 2006-12-11

A company's ability to grow and stay on top of customer demand has always depended heavily on the quality of its people. Now, more than ever, businesses recognize that finding (and keeping!) a highly skilled and motivated workforce is pivotal to success. Maybe you're a business owner and your company is growing, or you're an employee at a small to midsize company and management has asked you to take on some-or all-of their HR functions. Either way, knowing how to set up and implement successful HR practices (not to mention navigating the legal minefields in today's increasingly regulated environment) can be tricky. Human Resources Kit for Dummies, Second Edition, is your one-stop resource for learning the nuts and bolts of HR. It gives you the actual tools-forms, templates, and so on-that you can put to immediate and productive use. Inside, you'll easily discover how to: Find, hire, and keep top talent Create an effective compensation structure Ensure you're developing the right benefits package Encourage extraordinary performance Establish an employee-friendly environment And much more This Second Edition also contains new information on anti-discrimination legislation, measuring employee performance, firing or laying off employees, and the latest training and development plans. The CD-ROM includes updated forms and contracts-from job application forms and sample employee policies to performance appraisals and benefits worksheets. With the tools and helpful information in this book, you'll experience first-hand how a successful HR administration reaps untold rewards. Note: CD-ROM/DVD and other supplementary materials are not included as part of eBook file.
Standard and Poors 500 Guide 2013 by Poor's Publishing Company Staff; Standard Publishing Staff
Call Number: 332.6322 St243

ISBN: 9780071803274

Publication Date: 2013-01-16

The most up-to-date and accurate market intelligence for superior investment decisions--from the world's premier financial index! Standard & Poor's 500 Guide, 2013 Edition, contains hard-to-find data and analysis on the bluest of blue chip stocks--from Abbot Labs and GE to Microsoft and Yahoo! Comprehensive and fully updated information--from year-to-year stock values to overall company performance--make this the only resource you need to optimize your investment performance. Standard & Poor's provides the respected Standard & Poor's ratings and stock rankings, advisory services, data guides, and several closely watched and widely reported gauges of stock market activity.
Hoover's Handbook of American Business 2015
Call Number: 338.7 H769 2015

ISBN: 9781573111430

This book has become the standard for accessible, interesting, and affordable company information. Unlike any other business resource on the market, it includes in-depth company profiles featuring the personalities, events, and strategies that have made these enterprises leaders in their fields. It is the ultimate resource for business executives, salespeople, investors, job seekers, students, consumers, and anyone else with a need to know everything about America's largest and most influential enterprises. - Publisher.
Hoover's handbook of emerging companies.
Call Number: 338.7 H769e
Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies
Call Number: 338.7 H769p

ISBN: 9781573111447

Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies covers 900 nonpublic U.S. enterprises including large industrial and service corporations like Milliken & Company and PricewaterhouseCoopers; hospitals and health care organizations such as Blue Cross; charitable and membership organizations including the Ford Foundation; mutual and cooperative organizations such as IGA; joint ventures such as Motiva; government-owned corporations such as the United States Postal Service; and major university systems, including The University of Texas System. - Publisher.
Hoover's Handbook of World Business
Call Number: 338.7 H769w

ISBN: 9781573111454

If you need to know more about important companies from around the world, this book is your ultimate resource. Whether you're investing in international stocks, selling or buying overseas, or searching for a new career, you'll find a wealth of information about the world's largest and most influential businesses.
301 Best Questions to Ask on Your Interview, Second Edition by John Kador
Call Number: 650.14 K116 2010

ISBN: 9780071738880

Publication Date: 2010-04-07

Revised and updated for today's job market, the bestselling handbook for the ahead-of-the-curve job seeker"Is there anything you'd like to ask us?" This question can paralyze even the most seasoned job applicants. But with 301 Best Questions to Ask on Your Interview at your side, you will be ready with a response that demonstrates your confidence and ability to see the whole picture and think on your feet. This second edition of the bestselling job seeker's resource delivers proven, up-to-the-minute tools for job hunters who want to shine in this most crucial part of the interview process. Written with the participation of hundreds of recruiters, job coaches, hiring managers, and Fortune 500 HR specialists, this book is the best available source for the questions that can advance your candidacy and convince interviewers that you are the best person for the job. Other features, including examples of the most powerful questions you can ask--and the questions NEVER to ask--make 301 Best Questions to Ask on Your Interview your go-to guide for get-noticed, get-hired tips and techniques and expert guidance to put you in the driver's seat at your next interview. John Kador is the author of several books, including The Manager's Book of Questions and How to Ace the Brain Teaser Interview. A professional business writer and consultant, he has produced numerous speeches, annual reports, scripts, case histories, white papers, and news releases for Johnson & Johnson, Pfizer, Adecco, IBM, Sears, and other corporate clients. He lives in Winfield, Pennsylvania.
Are You Smart Enough to Work at Google? by William Poundstone
Call Number: 650.14 P865

ISBN: 9780316099974

Publication Date: 2012-01-04

You are shrunk to the height of a nickel and thrown in a blender. The blades start moving in 60 seconds. What do you do? If you want to work at Google, or any of America's best companies, you need to have an answer to this and other puzzling questions. Are You Smart Enough to Work at Google? guides readers through the surprising solutions to dozens of the most challenging interview questions. The book covers the importance of creative thinking, ways to get a leg up on the competition, what your Facebook page says about you, and much more. Are You Smart Enough to Work at Google? is a must-read for anyone who wants to succeed in today's job market.
The HR Toolkit: an Indispensable Resource for Being a Credible Activist by Denise Romano
Call Number: 658.3 R6621

ISBN: 9780071700818

Publication Date: 2010-04-09

Resolve any HR issue in a snap! Solving office problems before they escalate marks the difference between success and failure for any HR professional. The HR Toolkit provides what you need to resolve every imaginable challenge--saving your company time and money. With a handy indexed listing of the most common workplace conflicts and solutions, The HR Toolkit offers simple, actionable techniques you can start using right away. In no time, you'll be an expert on every issue and situation you face, including: Conflict resolution Performance management Job design Employee selection Workplace culture Codes of ethics Medical leave Fair labor standards Workplace Violence and Bullying Competitive Corporate Governance The HR Toolkit packs everything you need into one handy volume to help you increase both productivity and your company's bottom line by solving problems with diplomacy and skill. Praise for The HR Toolkit "Dozens of sample memos, policies, training aids, exercises, checklists and more that readers can use immediately for a wide range of HR tasks. Author Denise A. Romano, an HR professional for more than 14 years, does more than offer sample documents and review laws relevant to HR. She urges HR professionals to be "credible activists" who are willing--and well-trained enough--to point out when their companies are violating laws or just handling things improperly through inadvertent errors. She also addresses HR professionals' worries--including advising them on coping with workplaces that devalue HR. " --SHRM/HR Magazine

HR Textbooks

Fundamentals of Human Resource Management by Raymond A. Noe; Barry Gerhart; John R. Hollenbeck; Patrick M. Wright
Call Number: 658.3 F9627 2007

ISBN: 9780072934250

Publication Date: 2005-12-01

Noe et al., Fundamentals of Human Resource Management, 2/e Brief Contents Chapter 1: Managing Human Resources Part 1The Human Resource Environment Chapter 2: Trends in Human Resource Management Chapter 3: Providing Equal Employment Opportunity and a Safe Workplace Chapter 4: Analyzing Work and Designing Jobs Part 2Acquiring and Preparing Human Resources Chapter 5: Planning for and Recruiting Human Resources Chapter 6: Selecting Employees and Placing Them in Jobs Chapter 7: Training Employees Part 3Assessing Performance and Developing Employees Chapter 8: Managing Employees’ Performance Chapter 9: Developing Employees for Future Success Chapter 10: Separating and Retaining Employees Part 4Compensating Human Resources Chapter 11: Establishing a Pay Structure Chapter 12: Recognizing Employee Contributions with Pay Chapter 13: Providing Employee Benefits Part 5Meeting Other HR Goals Chapter 14: Collective Bargaining and Labor Relations Chapter 15: Managing Human Resources Globally Chapter 16: Creating and Maintaining High-Performance Organizations Glossary Photo Credits Name and Company Index Subject Index
The Human Side of Enterprise, Annotated Edition by Douglas McGregor
Call Number: 658.3 M178 2006

ISBN: 0071462228

Publication Date: 2006-01-11

"What are your assumptions (implicit as well as explicit) about the most effective way to manage people?" So began Douglas McGregor in this 1960 management classic. It was a seemingly simple question he asked, yet it led to a fundamental revolution in management. Today, with the rise of the global economy, the information revolution, and the growth of knowledge-driven work, McGregor's simple but provocative question continues to resonate-perhaps more powerfully than ever before. Heralded as one of the most important pieces of management literature ever written, a touchstone for scholars and a handbook for practitioners, The Human Side of Enterprise continues to receive the highest accolades nearly half a century after its initial publication. Influencing such major management gurus such as Peter Drucker and Warren Bennis, McGregor's revolutionary Theory Y-which contends that individuals are self-motivated and self-directed-and Theory X-in which employees must be commanded and controlled-has been widely taught in business schools, industrial relations schools, psychology departments, and professional development seminars for over four decades. In this special annotated edition of the worldwide management classic, Joel Cutcher-Gershenfeld, Senior Research Scientist in MIT's Sloan School of Management and Engineering Systems Division, shows us how today's leaders have successfully incorporated McGregor's methods into modern management styles and practices. The added quotes and commentary bring the content right into today's debates and business models. Now more than ever, the timeless wisdom of Douglas McGregor can light the path towards a management style that nurtures leadership capability, creates effective teams, ensures internal alignment, achieves high performance, and cultivates an authentic, value-driven workplace--lessons we all need to learn as we make our way in this brave new world of the 21st century.