Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How do I find the databases?
BJU students must use their CAS (campus login) user name and password in order to access databases. It is the same user name and password used to access email.
*From the intranet, select Academics and choose Libraries
*Click Online Resources, and then choose Find a LibGuide.
*Choose the Go to A to Z List in the blue box on the right.
*Select a database from the Alphabetical Listing. *Enter CAS user name and password when prompted after clicking on the database.
Search BJU Mack Library Catalog
Search Mack Library
INDY (Information DiscoverY at BJU Mack Library)
- Be sure to check INDY for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. INDY will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
- When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
- If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
- If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.
Subjects Covered: General Reference
Archives of American Art - Smithsonian
"Founded in Detroit in 1954 by Edgar P. Richardson, then Director of the Detroit Institute of Arts, and Lawrence A. Fleischman, a Detroit executive and active young collector, the initial goal of the Archives was to serve as microfilm repository of papers housed in other institutions." About page
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Art Full Text™ is a comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Artstor Public Collection
Artstor’s ever-growing public collections offer approximately 1 million freely accessible images, videos, documents, and audio files from library special collections, faculty research, and institutional history materials, as well as hundreds of thousands of open access images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Anyone may view and download these collections at library.artstor.org; no subscription or login required.
Atlas - English version of the Louvre online collection
The Atlas database covers all the works exhibited in the museum - some 30,000 items.
Internet users, like museum visitors, will find the usual explanatory texts that accompany museum exhibits, compiled under the authority of the museum curators.
New images are currently being added to the database, which is constantly updated.
Stories in the bible have always inspired artists. In this section you will find a selection of such biblical art, including many highlights from the history of art. Home Page
Bibliography of the History of Art
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its Web site at http://library.getty.edu/bha. The databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
"The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum's digital image database contains scanned images from our collection. Search here to see our existing scans; however, keep in mind that this is only a small portion of our total collection. Some images are scanned from the original art while others are scanned from newspaper tear sheets or other printed sources." Home Page
Cleveland Museum of Art
Bringing the CMA’s mission “For the Benefit of All the People, Forever” into the digital age, you can now share, collaborate, remix and reuse images of as many as 30,000 public domain artworks from the CMA’s world renowned collection of art for commercial, scholarly and non-commercial purposes.
Discover Yale Digital Commons
Yale has "open access to digital representations of works in the public domain from museum, library, and archive collections at Yale University" - Yale Daily Bulletin article.
Elizabethan Costume Guide
"The Elizabethan period is well-known for its fashion which served as a form of self-expression among all social classes. Women of that era were garments that covered nearly every area of skin on the body, from neck to ankle. Gowns were fitted snugly against the body to accent the square shoulders and small waist. Wealthier women often wore a French “hood” around the neck and large gold pendants." Home page
Elizabethan Costume Page
An amazing site that gives instructions on making certain historical garments and costumes.
English Handwriting 1500-1700: An Online Course
"WELCOME to English Handwriting 1500-1700: An online course. This resource has been designed for students and scholars of early modern English letters, history, theology, and philosophy--for anyone whose research will embrace original English manuscript sources in this period." Welcome page
Google Art Project
View art works from Art Museums using Google's amazing tools.
Library and Archival Exhibitions on the Web
From the Smithsonian Institution Libraries, explore the rich variety of topics, images, and materials featured in online exhibitions from libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums around the world.
Tudor Effigies: Costume Research Image Library
"The Costume Research Image Library has expanded with the addition of effigies from Sussex. A further 17 monuments in 15 churches are now available online after research into 50 Sussex churches. There are 36 new effigies (or groups of effigies) in civilian dress represented of which 24 are women and 12 men. The Tudor effigies database now offers 76 main images from Hampshire and Sussex." Welcome page
Turn of the Century Posters
"Over 1,000 American and European posters printed from 1893 through the first years of the 20th-century. The collection represents the inception and heyday of magazine, book, and newspaper posters of the last decade of the 19th-century, and well into the 20th-century." Home page
Van Gogh Museum Collection
"Step into Van Gogh's world. Discover the world's largest collection of works by Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum, featuring masterpieces such as Almond Blossom and The Bedroom." Refdesk
Vincent van Gogh: The Letters
All the surviving letters written and received by Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) are contained in this edition of his correspondence.11. Over and above the 902 surviving letters, there must have been at least 550 letters written to Van Gogh, and at least 290 letters written by Van Gogh that we no longer have (see Correspondents, Lost correspondence). Excepting only the digital form in which they are now being published, this is the continuation of a long tradition.
Wildenstein Plattner Institute
Mission & History
The Wildenstein Plattner Institute, Inc. is non-profit, private foundation dedicated to the compilation of digital catalogue raisonnés and archives that support research in the field of art history.