LibGuides: World History: Online Resources

Introduction

Mack Library's collection contains a wealth of information available through its multiple electronic resources called databases (to see more about the use of databases in the library see the LibGuide entitled Database Basics). In the not too distant past (not ancient history in other words), the average research project when using traditional print resources could take hours or even days to "sift through" a book or journal just to check for relevant information. Now with just typing in a subject or keyword term in one of the library databases retrieval of relevant articles (many available in full-text) in just a matter of seconds is a reality. Furthermore, the databases usually feature the availability of citation tools so you can export the citation of that article instantly.

Websites

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
World Timelines from the British Museum
"Worldtimelines.org.uk places 2,000 artefacts from museums around the British Isles in their geographical and chronological context."
more...less...
Introduction from the website "World Timelines from the British Museum"

http://www.worldtimelines.org.uk/

History - Databases/Websites

AAS Historical Periodicals
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Available in five comprehensive series:

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1684-1820)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912)
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.

Subjects Covered: General Reference
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States This link opens in a new window
At ProQuest, we believe that knowledge and trusted information can help guide progress and change – and as an EdTech provider, we have a unique responsibility to take action.

That’s why we developed this website focused on Black Freedom, featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Our intention is to support a wide range of students (see examples for using in teaching and learning), as well independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it.

By centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, we hope this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes all the content of the 32-volume Encyclopedia Britannica, plus the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia for quick answers to everyday questions and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia, which is ideal for students in grades 5-9. In addition, a world atlas covers the geography, economies, and cultures of more than 215 countries.

C-SPAN Video Library

Cambridge Core with Histories This link opens in a new window
"Cambridge Core is a brand new platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content. Our book and journal content has been brought together for the first time on Cambridge Core: a sophisticated, high-performance replacement for Cambridge Journals Online and Cambridge Books Online." About page

Digital History
Digital History is committed to providing high-quality historical resources for teachers and students for free and without advertising. We have been fortunate to develop partnerships with a number of archives and museums that share this vision and have granted us permission to draw upon their resources
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Arts & Science Collections I - XV and Life Sciences Collections are available for your research needs.

National Library of Ireland
From the About the Library page: "The mission of the Library is to collect, preserve, promote and make accessible the documentary and intellectual record of the life of Ireland and to contribute to the provision of access to the larger universe of recorded knowledge."
National Library of Scotland
"The National Library of Scotland is the world's leading centre for the study of Scotland and the Scots. We are a major European research library, with collections of world-class importance." Home page

Salem History This link opens in a new window
Salem History is the online version of print reference works in history. The titles include Milestone Documents, The Decades Series, Great Lives From History, Great Events From History . The set Milestone Documents includes full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
Ebsco Ebook collection This link opens in a new window
Offering a unique, interdisciplinary approach to U.S. History and Culture, Sharpe Online Reference (SOLR) explores the broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues that have shaped the nation from colonial times to the present day. This collection of links provides direct access to nearly 650 carefully selected and vetted Web sites.
Now part of EBSCO E-books

University of Exeter Digital Collections
Heritage Collections is part of the University of Exeter Library with responsibility for Special Collections and the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum.

The Special Collections and Bill Douglas Cinema Museum teams manage the University's unique and distinct collections of archives, rare books, film memorabilia and objects which can be accessed via our reading room, housed in the Research Commons, Old Library.
World Bank Open Data
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Our mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.

Gale in Context: World History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to ensure that the events, movements and individuals that defined, informed and shaped world history are covered with a sense of balance. For example:

•European history recounts the events that shaped the continent and defined international relations and global history — including two world wars, the Cold War, genocide and the rise and fall of Communism
•Asian history recounts the events from Bronze Age China to modern India, including the events of the 20th century that revolved around Communism in China and revolution in South East Asia
•African, Indian and Latin American history coverage includes the end of colonization in Africa and India, as well as the political and social movements in Latin America

Subject Guide

Shawn Smith

Email Me

Contact:

864-242-5100