Music: Websites

Here you will meet 52 composers, conductors and instrumental performers - Africans, African Americans and Afro-Europeans. They have made enduring contributions to Classical Music. Several have composed, conducted and performed Classical Music. Over 100 sound samples can be heard at the Audio page and at the biographical pages.

Afrocentric Voices focuses on African American performers and composers and on the vocal music forms they influenced, especially opera and art songs, including Negro spirituals composed for concert performance. Presented here is an extensive bibliography of books and other research resources. There is a small--but growing--list of biographies of vocalists and composers, such as Marian Anderson, Harry T. Burleigh, Leontyne Price, and others. Most of these biographies now have video playlists of these musicians in performance themselves or of others performing their works, as well as photographs, music score examples, and links to resources related to their lives or careers. (from the website created by Randye Jones)

Free sheet music, scores, and concert listings

CPDL was founded in December 1998, ported to ChoralWiki in August 2005, and incorporated in May 2010 as a U.S.A. 501(c)(3) tax-exempt charitable organization.
Here you will find free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.

"The Cy­ber Hymn­al™. Thou­sands of Christ­ian hymns & Gos­pel songs from ma­ny de­nom­in­a­tions: Lyr­ics, au­dio, sheet mu­sic, pic­tures, his­to­ry & more. Search­a­ble, ad­vanced Au­to­play fea­ture, free down­loads. New en­tries al­most ev­ery day. Us­er friend­ly. Big­gest site of its kind on the In­ternet." Link to us Page

The Great 78 Project is a community project for the preservation, research and discovery of 78 rpm records. From about 1898 to the 1950's, an estimated 3 million sides (~3 minute recordings) have been made on 78 rpm discs. 78's were mostly made from shellac, i.e., beetle resin, and were the brittle predecessors to the LP (microgroove) era. The format is obsolete, and just picking them up can cause them to break apart. Digitization makes this less commonly available music accessible to researchers in a format where it can be manipulated and studied without harming the physical artifacts. We have preserved the often very prominent surface noise and imperfections and included files generated by different sizes and shapes of stylus to facilitate different kinds of analysis.

The HTI database contains all hymn tunes printed anywhere in the world with English-language texts up to 1820, and their publication history up to that date.

Hymnal.net is a non-profit site that generates no income. We serve to provide an avenue for God’s children to enjoy the hymns from anywhere and at any time. Hymns on this site are either posted with permission or belong to the public domain. A public domain hymn is a hymn that predates copyright laws, and whose copyright has expired. Materials dated 1922 or earlier are usually in the public domain.

Hymnary.org is an online hymn and worship music database for worship leaders, hymnologists, and amateur hymn lovers alike. At Hymnary.org you can search or browse hymns by title, tune, meter, key, scripture reference, and more. In partnership with The Hymn Society in the United States and Canada, Hymnary.org now houses the Dictionary of North American Hymnology -- making Hymnary.org the most complete database of North American hymnody on the planet.

"Welcome to the portal page of the International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)! We at the IMSLP believe that music should be something that is easily accessible for everyone. For this purpose we have created a music library to provide music scores free of charge to anyone with internet access, with several other projects in planning. IMSLP is also entirely collaborative, and all contributions are greatly welcome." Home page

Access to public domain books on the works of Bach, Verdi, Beethoven, Mozart and more provide by the Online Library of Liberty.

This site is maintained by the Legislation Committee of the Music Library Association (MLA) as a resource for anyone interested in issues of copyright as they apply to the fields of music and music librarianship.

OSU has compiled a list of excellent websites for researching music. Topics
included on their list are subject directories (directories which provide links to
yet more websites), song lyrics, copyright, sheet music, and Internet databases.

«Musica Docta» is a digital peer-reviewed, open access journal born in 2010 as a project of SagGEM (Gruppo per l’Educazione Musicale del «Saggiatore musicale»). The journal is dedicated to publishing studies in the field of pedagogy and music education, in Italian, French, English, Spanish, and German.

From Home page: "The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain, and include works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others. A team of volunteers are involved in typesetting the music by computer using the LilyPond software."

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. WARNING: Historical recordings may contain offensive language.

The Archives collection contains material that dates back to the Philharmonic's first concert in 1842. This unprecedented open access will be a resource for scholars, developers, and the public, allowing for new forms of research and application development utilizing the Philharmonic's performance history — the longest running collection of data on classical music in the United States. Current material available in the Digital Archives includes: 1,767 scores marked by Leonard Bernstein, Andre Kostelanetz, and others, 16,018 music parts marked by Philharmonic musicians, 13,311 printed programs, 4,079 business and planning folders, and 16,375 photographs and images.

Partifi is an automated tool for creating parts from music scores. Partifi is made for musicians by musicians. By freely offering this part-making tool and maintaining a publicly accessible library of user-contributed scores, they seek to support the study and performance of historical music.

Discover almost a million images of rare books, manuscripts, and other treasures from the Bodleian Libraries and Oxford college libraries.