Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites with Primary Sources
Documenting the American South
This site provides access to text, images, and audio files related to Southern culture, history, and literature. Materials span from the colonial period through the 20th century. The materials come from the holdings of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
In 1982, President Ronald Reagan asked Lee Iacocca, then Chairman of Chrysler Corporation, to head a private sector effort to raise funds for the restoration and preservation of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation (SOLEIF) was founded.
History Engine: Tools for Collaborative Research
"The History Engine is an educational tool that gives students the opportunity to learn history by doing the work—researching, writing, and publishing—of a historian. The result is an ever-growing collection of historical articles or "episodes" that paints a wide-ranging portrait of life in the United States throughout its history and that is available to scholars, teachers, and the general public in our online database." Home page
Texas Slavery Project
The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850. Includes maps and primary sources.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
A database of slave-trading voyages, including information about crew and slaves. Also includes summary statistics and secondary sources about the slave trade. Another database includes names of some 67,000 slaves transported in the Middle Passage.
Subjects: About the Mack Library
, BJU Course Guides
, Distance Learning
, How to Guides
, Science & Technology