LibGuides: HI 101 The Making of the Modern World: Home

HI 101 Library Research Guide

The purpose of this guide is to help you find both primary and secondary resources to help you with your history project.

Where should I start?

Below is a list of helpful links and databases that we've highlighted for you because they should be very helpful starting points for your HI 101 Project.

Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
National Archives
Primary sources via the National Archives website. From About Us page: "The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever."

more... less...

From About Us page: "Those valuable records are preserved and are available to you, whether you want to see if they contain clues about your family’s history, need to prove a veteran’s military service, or are researching an historical topic that interests you."
Historical Documents - US Dept. of State
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
New York Public Libraries Digital Collections
The New York Public Library (NYPL) Digital Collections platform is the primary portal for engaging with their digitized collections and their descriptions, The collection has over 922,495 items and counting. —from books to videos, maps to manuscripts, illustrations to photos, and more.

The Digital Collections platform contains some content that may be harmful or difficult to view. They collect materials from many cultures and time periods to preserve and make available the historical record.
Digital History
Digital History is committed to providing high-quality historical resources for teachers and students for free and without advertising. We have been fortunate to develop partnerships with a number of archives and museums that share this vision and have granted us permission to draw upon their resources
American Presidency Project
"The American Presidency Project (americanpresidency.org), was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John T. Woolley & Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Our archives contain 110,489 documents related to the study of the Presidency." Home page
British National Archives
The National Archives of the United Kingdom offer online exhibitions and some government records and genealogical data.
EuroDocs
EuroDocs connects to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.

more... less...

Books, Government Documents, Primary Sources
Browning Letters
"This is an unparalleled collection of correspondence written and received by the Victorian poets Robert Browning and Elizabeth Barrett Browning. Featuring materials from the collection of the Armstrong Browning Library at Baylor University and the holdings of Wellesley College in Wellesley, Massachusetts, the letters in this collection are browsable and searchable by date, author, and first line of text. The project is funded in part by the Bob and Anna Wright Endowed Fund." Home page
Documenting the American South
This site provides access to text, images, and audio files related to Southern culture, history, and literature. Materials span from the colonial period through the 20th century. The materials come from the holdings of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History
"The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living." Home page

Newspapers and Current Events

Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source™ Plus includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.

All staff articles are also included from many newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, Houston Chronicle, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), etc.