It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"The sole purpose of this Web site is to educate and increase awareness of Dickens' life and works to a new generation of readers. Permission to use content and images from this Web site is freely given for all non-commercial purposes. A link crediting this site is all that is required." About page
Comprehensive source for literary research features content from Facts On File’s extensive print literature collection, hundreds of Harold Bloom’s essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, and thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom’s Literary Criticism imprint. This accessible database also contains an archive of more than 46,000 characters; extensive entries on literary topics, themes, movements, genres, and authors; almost 170 video segments; and more.
Use Dickens, Charles as a search term in Bloom's Literature for 3000 plus results.
Bloom’s Literary Criticism eBook Collection features more than 571 titles from the following sets and series. Bloom’s Classic Critical Views, Bloom”s Guides. Bloom’s Literary Themes, Bloom’s Modern Critical Interpretation, Bloom’s Modern Critical Views, Bloom’s Shakespeare Through the Ages and Bloom’s How to Write About Literature.
Literary Reference Center™ is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It has been specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research.
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books and literary journals, as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism; more than 252,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios); 450 literary journals; more than 693,000 book reviews; more than 78,400 classic and contemporary poems; more than 19,700 classic and contemporary short stories; more than 6,600 author interviews; more than 8,200 classic texts; and much more.
In addition, Literary Reference Center includes Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature, Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, Beacham's Research Guide to Biography and Criticism (six volumes), The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, The Columbia Companion to the 20th Century American Short Story, all of MagillOnLiterature Plus™ and much more.
Salem Literature is a robust online database that includes the complete content of printed reference sets. Purchasing printed reference delivers online access at no additional cost. Salem currently offers this service with our new Critical Insights series, the recently revised Critical Survey of Long Fiction, and Magill's Literary Annual. Masterplots 4th edition is also included
Masterplots provides fundamental reference data, plot synopses where applicable, and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English.
The Masterplots series is divided into two groups. The original, core series is the 12-volume Masterplots, whose second revised edition was published in 1996. It covers more than 1,800 works of literature, from the classics to the great works of modern world fiction, nonfiction, drama, and poetry. Masterplots, Fourth Edition is an expanded and updated version of 1996's Masterplots, Third Edition which was itself a culmination of the Masterplots sets published at intervals since 1949. Masterplots, Fourth Edition, in twelve volumes, retains the original purpose of the Masterplots concept.
Becoming Dickens tells the story of how an ambitious young Londoner became England's greatest novelist. In following the twists and turns of Charles Dickens's early career, Robert Douglas-Fairhurst examines a remarkable double transformation: in reinventing himself, Dickens reinvented the form of the novel.
When Charles Dickens died in 1870, The Times of London successfully campaigned for his burial in Westminster Abbey, the final resting place of England's kings and heroes. Thousands flocked to mourn the best recognized and loved man of nineteenth-century England.