Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books in French
Books in French
Audio books to download to your computer, MP3 player, or iPod.
LibriVox provides free audiobooks from the public domain. There are several options for listening. The first step is to get the mp3 or ogg files into your own computer by clicking LibriVox catalog and choosing a title.
"The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format." About IA
"Welcome to Authorama.com, featuring completely free books from a variety of different authors, collected here for you to read online or offline. The books may have been published before, but not in this form, which I hope you find enjoyable to read and print. Feedback is welcome – enjoy the reading." (Home page)
Directory of Open Access Books
"The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory will be open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards." About page
Web Books Publishing provides access to 1500+ e-books to read online
Folger Shakespeare Library - Folgerpedia
"Welcome to the Folger Shakespeare Library, located on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC. Home to the world’s largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art, the Folger serves a wide audience of researchers, visitors, teachers, students, families, and theater- and concert-goers." About page
Free Books - 100 sites of ebooks
Sites with ebooks ready to download
Free EPUB eBooks
"All the eBooks found here on epubBooks are provided without any DRM (Digital Rights Management) and as they are Public Domain, Copyright Free, or the author has given consent for them to be made available, they are FREE to download." About page
"The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations." About page
Historical Documents - US Dept. of State
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
Searchable online literature for the student, educator, or enthusiast.
the best ebooks at the best price: free!
Browse through the most popular titles, recommendations, or recent reviews from our visitors. Perhaps you'll find something interesting in the special collections. There are more than 29,000 eBooks available for Kindle, Nook, iPad and most other eReaders, and they're all free! If you still can't decide what to read you might want to browse through some covers to see what strikes your fancy. Or try the Recent Additions to the library, with genre filter. Home page
"We are a non-profit with a huge mission: to give everyone free access to all knowledge. Forever. Together we are building the digital library of the future. A place we can go to learn and explore. The key is to keep it free. That's where you can help us. The Internet Archive is a non-profit library." firstname.lastname@example.org
Moby Dick Big Read
Each chapter read by fans of the book and freely available online.
Read Print Library
Free online books library for students, teachers, and the classic enthusiast.
Subjects: About the Mack Library
, BJU Course Guides
, Distance Learning
, How to Guides
, Science & Technology