Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Download this PDF version of the LibGuide for convenient printing or personal reference.
Search Library Catalog
Search Mack Library
INDY (Information DiscoverY at BJU Mack Library)
The Old Testament Pseudepigrapha by
Call Number: 229.1 OL1
2 vols. Garden City, NY: Doubleday, 1983.
A collection of all the pseudepigraphal writings, translated into English, with introductions, explanatory notes, and bibliographies.
Encyclopedia Judaica by
Call Number: 296 En19 2007
2nd ed. 22 vols. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2007.
The most authoritative general reference work on Jews and Judaism. (Similar encyclopedias can be found by browsing REF 296.)
The Encyclopedia of Judaism by
Call Number: 296.03 En192
2nd ed. 4 vols. Leiden: Brill, 2005.
Contains lengthy articles, including articles about the history of Judaism and themes relevant to the intertestamental period. Check both the table of contents and the index.
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls by
Call Number: 296.15503
New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
A comprehensive guide to the content and history of the Dead Sea scrolls. Each article includes lengthy annotated bibliographies.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East by
Call Number: 939.4 Ox2
5 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
Though most of the articles in this encyclopedia deal with topics outside the intertestamental period, some will provide valuable information about the archeology of that era. Check both the index (5:461) and the synoptic outline of contents (5:451).