Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: 220.91 B47137
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Heralded as the most authoritative and up-to-date atlas of the Bible now available, Biblica: The Bible Atlas with an enclosed CD-ROM goes beyond the more traditional books of its kind. It places the biblical narrative and its peoples in their historical, cultural, social, and geographic contexts, and it makes clear the complex history and cultures of the Bible lands as they relate to the region's modern social and political landscape. But perhaps most important of all, Biblica: The Bible Atlas incorporates the most recent archaeological findings and research, combining scholarly data with engaging discussion of the Bible's immortal stories. In summary, this unusual volume offers readers fresher insights and a deeper appreciation of the biblical narrative than any other reference source of its kind. Biblica: The Bible Atlas is also a visually stunning guide to the Bible and biblical lands, featuring more than 650 full-color paintings, drawings, etchings, and photographs plus 125 full-color maps of the region. Following the extensive and beautifully illustrated main text are 14 pages of biblical reference tables, an extensive bibliography, a glossary of biblical terms, a large selection of biblical quotations from the Old and New Testaments, a gazetteer of biblical place names, and an extensive index. Here is a beautiful and informative book that will make a treasured addition to the family bookshelf. It will also be a much-sought-after volume in reference libraries everywhere. (sidebar copy) Biblica: The Bible Atlas Brings to life the dramatic stories, charismatic people, and fascinating locales of the Bible Arranged in eight parts: geography and history of the Bible lands; Genesis and the Patriarchal period; the Judges; the Kings, the Prophets and the Righteous; the conquest of the kingdoms; the life of Jesus of Nazareth; and the spreading of the Word Includes information on topography, geology, climate, vegetation, and key physical features of the region 125 original maps show prominent locations, journeys, battles, political boundaries, and more Incorporates the latest archaeological findings and theological research. The enclosed CD-ROM presents interactive maps that point out biblical place names and important archaeological sites. This software accessory also defines biblical names and Bible-related terms, and serves readers as a helpful complement to a truly unusual book.
National Geographic Atlas of the World by
Call Number: 912 N213 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-19
"National Geographic Atlas of the World," "Ninth Edition "showcases the Earth in stunning detail, through a magnificent collection of world, continental, and regional maps that represent up-to-the-minute political geography. Throughout the "Ninth Edition, " state-of-the-art cartographic technologies and thousands of updates deliver accuracy and quality. Innovative new physical and thematic sections address the most compelling issues facing our world today. Preeminent scientists and experts in geographical specialty fields have consulted on all topics, to ensure that the maps, graphs, and text convey significant trends and findings relevant to modern science. Innovative design makes the wide-ranging content wonderfully accessible, resulting in an accurate, useful, and user-friendly reference to the world. Map coverage in the "Ninth Edition "is more comprehensive and up-to-date than ever before: - Newly generated regional maps reveal in great detail the geography of places in the news today, strengthening the reference aspect of the "Atlas "in its coverage of newsworthy developments, from conflict in the Middle East to global warming in North America. - Dramatic, state-of-the-art ocean floor maps show more detail, more features, and more soundings than in any other atlas. - Extraterrestrial maps chart the Northern and Southern skies, the Solar System, the Milky Way, and the Universe, with new maps of Mars and the Moon that denote physical features, spacecraft landings, and impact sites. Twenty new thematic spreads illustrate crucial aspects of the human and physical world: population, urbanization, and their environmental impact, as well as human rights, health and wellness, culture, climate, technology, and many other topics. In this section, world maps appear in the same scale and projection to make it easier for the reader to compare layers of information. Plus, new highlighted notes called "connections" point out the interrelationships between topics. The reference value of the "National Geographic Atlas of the World, Ninth Edition "is unparalleled, with the place-name index now exceeding 150,000 entries to incorporate the thousands of features covered on the new spreads. Simple, straightforward index design provides readers with ease of navigation in finding the places they want to explore. This blend of mapping expertise, comprehensive coverage, and award-winning design places the "National Geographic Atlas of the""World, Ninth Edition "in a class by itself. Free gift: The Atlas of the World, Ninth Edition also comes with two free frameable map prints This premium map is a two-piece, antique-styled map of the Western and Eastern Hemispheres, reflecting current political boundaries. The two sheets can be mounted separately or together in one frame. Dimensions for each sheet are: 11-1/2" x 14-5/8."
The Sacred Bridge by
Call Number: 220.91 R135
Publication Date: 2006-12-01
To meet the need for clear and accurate information, Professors Anson F. Rainey and R. Steven Notley have now come forward with an atlas that traces the course of Near Eastern history from the Chalcolithic Age (c. 3500 BCE) to the defeat of Bar Kochba's fighters and their retreat to the caves east of En-gedi. The product of close cooperation between two distinguished scholars of world renown and the knowledgeable and experienced staff of Carta, Jerusalem, this Atlas provides 300 state-of-the-art maps to show as far as possible in terms of modern knowledge the changes and historical processes that affected the lands of the Bible. Included are all historical and biblical episodes that can be depicted cartographically--migrations and settlements, battles and conquests, the location and detailed movement of individual historical and biblical characters. In addition, The Sacred Bridge--Carta's Atlas of the Biblical World draws on information from all known ancient sources-Egyptian, Assyrian, Greek, Roman and others--to reveal trade routes, economic determinants, and the development of international relations. Maps, many of them never before attempted, are presented chronologically, with extensive interpretive texts alongside. Finds, tools, artifacts, inscriptions and other documents from each period also appear in conjunction with the maps. The ultimate usefulness of any complex reference work depends on its index and its bibliography, and The Sacred Bridge--Carta's Atlas of the Biblical World provides everything that could be asked for in the way of organized assistance to the reader. Each person or site can be located. An invaluable chronological table correlates historical activity in the East (Mesopotamia and Anatolia), the southern Levant, Egypt, and the Greco-Roman West from 2800 BCE to the second century CE. The superb reference sections contain every article, book or document consulted. The extensive index contains every place name that has been mapped and, in addition, names that still defy exact location but can be shown in relation to specific biblical episodes. New Testament geography, especially that of the Gospels, is interpreted in the light of the new understanding resulting from such discoveries as the Dead Sea Scrolls (e.g., the wider use of Hebrew as a social and religious vehicle than heretofore acknowledged). These refreshing insights serve to define geographical terms used in the New Testament and trace their origin. Documents are presented in their original languages and transcribed or translated into English. A special feature of this atlas is the insertion of these texts and their meaning within the narrative proper.
The New Atlas of the Arab World by
Call Number: 912.56 N42012
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
The first up-to-date, handy reference atlas covering all twenty-two countries of the Arab League, with maps, demographic, cultural, and political information The Arab world, covering a large part of northern Africa and southwestern Asia, comprises the twenty-two countries of the League of Arab States, from Morocco in the west to Oman in the east, from Syria in the north to Comoros in the south. This new atlas, compiled using information from the latest satellite imagery, contains detailed maps of the entire region, showing physical features, political boundaries, towns, and communication networks. In addition, each of the twenty-two countries is the subject of an illustrated essay, with notes and the latest statistics on the geography, population, history and politics, and economy of the country. The countries covered are: Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Em
Atlas of the United States by
Call Number: 912.73 G2937
Publication Date: 2006-05-11
An indispensable item in any modern professional or personal library, the Atlas of the United States offers a closer look at the oldest, richest, and most populous country on the continent. Opening with two pages of the latest statistics, this atlas provides a broad overview of a multiculturaland diverse nation taking its first steps into a new century. The heart of this comprehensive volume is a unique thematic section covering physical, historic, urban, economic, social, and cultural topics ranging from environmental change to religious practice, and indigenous peoples to migrationpatterns. Accompanied by a balanced combination of informative text and instructive charts and graphs, these newly drawn maps seek to explain the dynamic forces shaping the United States of America.The thematic section is followed by a spectacular two-page satellite image of the lower 48 states and several regional maps including a full page for the US Pacific islands plus dozens of larger-scale maps of urban areas. A useful, illustrated gazetteer offers still more precision with charts ofcensus data and descriptions of the history, geography, and industry of each state and its capital. In combination, these components transform the new Atlas of the United States into a home reference unsurpassed in quality that is equal parts study source and travel guide. All of this is facilitatedby a comprehensive index with latitude and longitude coordinates and alphanumeric grid references that make finding places effortless. What's more, page number indicators and refined locator windows throughout the atlas allow for easy identification of adjacent map pages.With hundreds of maps rendering every region from Barrow, Alaska to Venice, Florida in layer-colored contours, this atlas is the United States as it hasn't been seen before.