Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Download this PDF version of the LibGuide for convenient printing or personal reference.
Search Library Catalog
Search Mack Library
INDY (Information DiscoverY at BJU Mack Library)
Encyclopedia of the Early Church by
Call Number: 270.103 En193
Publication Date: 1992-02-20
The Encyclopedia of the Early Church is a two-volume reference work providing concise and precise information on all topics concerning the first eight centuries of Christianity. Valuable to historians, archaeologists, philosophers, and philologists as well as theologians, this work extends the knowledge of how Christianity evolved to become the most important influence in the history of Western civilization. Tracing the growth of the church from its tiny beginnings in an upper room to its dominance of Europe, western Asia, and northern Africa in the eighth century, scholars from many disciplines produced articles ranging from a few sentences to ten thousand words on all the major and most of the minor people, works, ideas, and issues of the formative period of Christianity. The first major encyclopedia to cover the life, thought, and growth of Christianity, this work offers full treatment of doctrines, creeds, and heresies, of iconography and art history, of archaeology and geography, and of monasticism and asceticism.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by
Call Number: 270.103 En19 1997
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
First published in 1997. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Dictionary of Early Christian Literature by
Call Number: 270.103 L5912
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
The long-awaited successor to Berthold Altaner's Patrologie handbook, the Dictionary of Early Christian Literature presents the life and work of Chrisitan authors up to the eighth century and an assessment of their lasting influence on the Christian tradition. The Dictionary offers complete and precise information as well as an updated bibliography in an easy-to-use alphabetical arrangement. Articles on authors provide a brief description of their lives, a presentation of their works, and an assessment of their invluence on the Christian tradition. Other articles deal with types of works and their particular characteristics. Despite the wealth of articles, movements and developments within the centuries can be easily grasped, providing valuable insight into the formation of the Christian tradition as we understand it today.
A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs by
Call Number: 270.1 D5609
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
A compendium of quotations culled from the ten volume Ante-Nicene Fathers and arranged by subject for quick reference. The quotes include comments on 700 theological, moral, and historical topics from prominent figures such as Origen, Clement of Alexandria, Clement of Rome, and Hippolytus. Some entr
A Patristic Greek Lexicon by
Call Number: 487.3 L196
5 vols. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1961.
This lexicon treats “all words of special theological or ecclesiastical significance” and lists every word that is contained in the fathers but that is not adequately treated in Liddel, Scott, and Jones’s lexicon. It does not contain biblical words, except as they are used by the fathers. For basic reading of the Greek fathers one should use BDAG or LSJ, but this lexicon will explain words’ theological meanings.
A Dictionary of Christian Biography, Literature, Sects and Doctrines by
Call Number: 203 Sm68
Publication Date: 1984-01-01
4 vols. Boston: Little, Brown, and Company, 1877.
Though dated, this work is the most comprehensive both in terms of the topics that it covers and the detail in which it treats them. The work covers topics from the apostles to Charlemagne.
The Early Church: An Annotated Bibliography of Literature in English by
Call Number: 016.2301 R567
ATLA Bibliography Series, no. 33. Metuchen, NJ: The American Theological Library Association and the Scarecrow Press, 1993.
A highly valuable bibliography of the early church. Sources are arranged by topic and are identified as being introductory works, summaries, or sourcebooks, among other categories. Each source receives a detailed annotation, often with citations to book reviews.
Origins to Constantine by
Call Number: 270 C1443
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
The first of the nine volume Cambridge History of Christianity series, Origins to Constantine provides a comprehensive overview of the essential events, persons, places and issues involved in the emergence of the Christian religion in the Mediterranean world in the first three centuries. Over thirty essays written by scholarly experts trace this dynamic history from the time of Jesus through to the rise of Imperial Christianity in the fourth century. It provides thoughtful and well-documented analyses of the diverse forms of Christian community, identity and practice that arose within decades of Jesus's death, and which through missionary efforts were soon implanted throughout the Roman Empire. Origins to Constantine examines the distinctive characteristics of Christian groups in each geographical region up to the end of the third century, while also exploring the development of the institutional forms, intellectual practices and theological formulations that would mark Christian history in subsequent centuries.
The Cambridge History of Christianity - Constantine to C. 600 by
Call Number: 270 C1443
Publication Date: 2007-08-30
This volume in the Cambridge History of Christianity presents the 'Golden Age' of patristic Christianity. After episodes of persecution by the Roman government, Christianity emerged as a licit religion enjoying imperial patronage and eventually became the favoured religion of the empire. The articles in this volume discuss the rapid transformation of Christianity during late antiquity, giving specific consideration to artistic, social, literary, philosophical, political, inter-religious and cultural aspects. The volume moves away from simple dichotomies and reductive schematizations (e.g., 'heresy v. orthodoxy') toward an inclusive description of the diverse practices and theories that made up Christianity at this time. Whilst proportional attention is given to the emergence of the Great Church within the Roman Empire, other topics are treated as well - such as the development of Christian communities outside the empire.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by
Call Number: 270.03 Ox2 1997
Publication Date: 1997-03-13
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, since its first appearance in 1957, has established itself as the indispensable one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Christian Church. This third edition, the first for over twenty years, builds on the unrivalled reputation of theprevious editions. Revised and updated, it reflects changes in academic opinion and Church organisation. There is increased coverage of the Eastern Churches, certain issues in moral theology, and developments stemming from the Second Vatican Council. Numerous new entries have been added and theextensive bibliographies have been brought up to date. Readers are provided with over 6,000 authoritative cross-referenced A-Z entries covering all aspects of the subject, including:* Theology - the development of doctrines in different Churches; heretical movements and spirituality and their exponents; history of the Reformation and Counter-Reformation; discoveries of Nag Hammadi and their significance for Gnosticism.* Patristic scholarship - Fathers of the Church on whose work later theology is founded are covered in detail, for example, Psuedo-Chrysostom is differentiated from his namesake and the problems of Macarius of Egypt and Macarius/Simeon are elucidated; the recently discovered Sermons of St Augustineare listed.* Churches and denominations - the beliefs and structures of both the mainstream and the lesser known denominations, such as Lutherans, Shakers, Amish, Muggletonians, and Wee Frees; lengthy articles on the history of Christianity throughout the world, in countries such as Ireland, Spain, Poland,Canada, New Zealand, Angola, Zaire, the Philippines.* The Church calendar and organisation - feast and saints' days; Sacraments; church services, offices, rites, and practices; canon law including Catholic revision; councils and synods; religious orders.* Biographical entries - these are wide-ranging and include saints, popes, patriarchs, and archbishops; mystics, heretics, and reformers; theologians and philosophers with a summary of their opinions; artists, poets, and musicians whose work has been influenced by Christianity.* New entries - Arator; Liberation Theology; Ludwig Wittgenstein; ordination of women; Christian attitudes to Jews; Christianity in Vietnam; The Quest of the Historical Jesus; the ethics of contraception, procreation, and abortion.