Biblical Hebrew: Advanced Resources

This is a print on demand book and is therefore non- returnable. The original publication of A Treatise on the Use of the Tenses in Hebrew and Some Other Syntactical Questions (1894) launched S. R. Driver's career and placed him at the forefront of Hebrew grammar and biblical studies. The reason is simple: this work was the first attempt in English to expound the principles of Hebrew syntax on lines at once philosophical and scientific. All modern study of Hebrew has been founded on the Tenses, and it remains perhaps the most interesting and original book that Drive wrote. Its final edition was hailed as the best single study of the Hebrew verbal system. Even critics conceded it to be an exciting and brilliant work that shaped future discussion of the Hebrew and Semitic verb. This Biblical Resources Series edition of Driver's classic work, which adopts the third and final edition of the Tenses (1892), includes Driver's expanded and improved version of the text as well as a lengthy new introductory essay by W. Randall Garr on the history of the Tenses and its enduring importance as a manual for today's students of the Hebrew language.

Not only a significant Hebrew concordance, this hand-written volume qualifies as a calligraphic masterpiece.

A guide for mastering basic Hebrew vocabulary This guide helps seminary and Christian college students learn Hebrew vocabulary. A special feature of the guide is that it groups thevocabulary in three basic consonants.* All words occurring ten times or more in the Hebrew Bible in descending order of frequency* Primary roots and all words derived from roots occurring ten times or more* Unusual and difficult word list, such as proper names, adjectives, prepositions, pronouns, particles, and verbs

A Student's Vocabulary for Biblical Hebrew and Aramaic provides the student with a vocabulary list by word frequency for words appearing ten times or more in the Hebrew text. Unlike other vocabulary lists, this work combines all word forms in a single list, simplifying the student's task of learning all words of a given frequency. Words are given in groups of thirty or fewer in order to provide the students with short, manageable learning blocks. The vocabulary list also gives the basic meaning of each word, a phonetic pronunciation guide, key information about the word's part of speech, and the number of times each word appears in the Hebrew text. A separate section of the vocabulary list contains all Aramaic words appearing in the Old Testament. A Student's Vocabulary for Biblical Hebrew and Aramaic is a tool that will be welcomed and used by all students of Hebrew.

Only one hermeneutical text published prior to the New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis can be held up reasonably to its measure of quality and the exhaustive nature of the research that produced this immense work. That singular collection worthy of comparison is its counterpart, the New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology, edited by Colin Brown. This 5 volume addition to that acclaimed work, though intimidating in the achievement it embodies, is intended for serious Old Testament and exegetical study by men and women of all walks of life -- both academics and pastors, students and laypersons. Volume one contains a Guide to Old Testament Theology and Exegesis in which ten essays have been compiled to thoroughly explain proper hermeneutics and interpretation, as well as guidelines for using this source material. Volumes one through four contain the Lexicon of the Old Testament, all words found in the text ordered by Hebrew alphabetization for easy reference, and coupled with a Goodrick / Kohlenberger cross-referencing number to be used in conjunction with Strong's numbering system. The relationship of each word in different contexts and languages is also explained, including alternative words, and the particulars of their semantic domain. All this information is, of course, complete with bibliography. Volume four also begins the Topical Dictionary. Therein can be found articles on the theology of each Old Testament book individually, as well as discussion of biblical concepts, people, places, events, and literary pieces, all information that is cross-referenced to the preceding Hebraic Lexicon. Finally, volume five contains a series of indexes: Hebrew Index, Scripture Index, Subject Index, and an index of Semantic Fields. Taken as a whole, the New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis is an unparalleled accomplishment in the field of biblical hermeneutics.

Extensive, scholarly discussion of every Hebrew word of theological significance in the Old Testament. Keyed to Strong's Concordance.

A one-volume edition (1989) is also available, but not in the Mack Library collection.

Strictly alphabetical listing of words written in Hebrew letters, followed by some inflectional forms of the word, its English meaning, and relevant chapter and verse citations from the Bible.

One of the barriers involved in teaching students of Biblical Hebrew about the Masorah is the lack of introductory literature on the subject. Although a lot of information about the Masorah is available in print, most of it is in technical professional journals or encyclopedia articles. Scattered about in disparate sources, often not in English, this literature is easier to ignore than it is to incorporate into introductory Hebrew classes. As a result, most students of Biblical Hebrew complete their studies without any background on the Masorah. This volume fills this gap by providing an introduction and glossary to the Masorah of the Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia. Although the volume could be used by any student of the Hebrew Bible, it is specifically designed to be helpful for students who are just learning Hebrew. Thus it can serve as an important parallel text for second semester or second year Hebrew courses. The introductory chapters give an overview of the field of Masoretic studies and explain the mechanics of using the Masorah of BHS. The annotated glossary provides students with definitions and explanations for most of the terms used in BHS, including examples.

New for this edition are a chapter by Wurthwein that speaks to the theological significance of textual criticism and the history of the text, and an appendix by Harold P. Scanlin of the United Bible Societies that discusses resources for textual research. Also included are an expanded and updated bibliography and forty-nine plates of texts and inscriptions.

Sheds light on the origin and nature of Hebrew texts and versions, helping scholars, students, and pastors more fully understand the Old Testament.

How do texts acquire meaning? How is the meaning communicated to the reader? The task of effective biblical interpretation begins with linguistics. In this introductory text on the use of linguistics in biblical interpretation, Peter Cotterell and Max Turner focus on the concept of meaning, the significance of author, text and reader, and the use of discourse analysis.

When first published in 1983, Biblical Words and Their Meaning broke new ground by introducing to students of the Bible the principles of linguistics, in particular, on lexical semantics -- that branch that focuses on the meaning of individual words. Silva's structural approach provides the interpreter with an important lexical tool for more responsible understanding of the biblical text and more effective use of standard exegetical resources. This revised edition includes a bibliographical essay by Silva, "Recent Developments in Semantics," and an appendix by Karen H. Jobes, "Distinguishing the Meaning of Greek Verbs in the Semantic Domain for Worship," that provides the reader with a substantive example of lexical study.

Inspires and instructs students and pastors to use the Hebrew Bible appropriately in their preaching and teaching. Includes sample sermons and lessons.

This book is a beginner's guide to biblical Hebrew. It serves as a tool for ministers and ministers-in-training who want to become more effective preachers and instructors. The book's uniqueness is in its tool-based approach; it includes a list of abbreviations of Biblical Books and an appendix of the basics of Hebrew. The lesson in Hebrew is practical; the author first answers basic questions about biblical Hebrew and then takes the reader through a series of analyses that discuss learning the language -- from words, to figures of speech, to Hebrew writing - both narrative and poetry, and finally, to broader issues of culture and communication. Using Biblical Hebrew in Ministry is an excellent and resourceful text for ministers, as well as Seminaries and Bible colleges that offer courses such as "Biblical Hebrew for English Speakers," "Using Biblical Resource Tools," Biblical Hebrew, and Hebrew exegesis.

For years, Douglas Stuart's Old Testament Exegesishas been one of the most popular ways to learn how to perform exegesis--the science and art of interpreting biblical texts properly for understanding as well as proclamation. Completely updated and substantially expanded, this new edition includes scores of newer resources, a new configuration of the format for the exegesis process, and an entirely new section explaining where to find and how to use the latest electronic and online resources for doing biblical research. Stuart provides guidance for full exegesis as well as for a quicker approach to provide information specifically tailored to the task of preaching. A glossary of terms explains the sometimes bewildering language of biblical scholarship, and a list of frequent errors guides the student in avoiding common mistakes. No exegetical guide for the Old Testament has been more widely used in training ministers and students to be faithful, careful interpreters of Scripture.

The Old Testament displays a remarkable literary and theological unity through a variety of genres. But applying a single, one-size-fits-all method of exegesis can lead to confusion and misunderstanding. A valuable reference tool for students and pastors, the Handbooks for Old Testament Exegesis (HOTE) series provides readers with an enhanced understanding of different Old Testament genres and strategies for interpretation. The inaugural volume in the HOTE series, Interpreting the Historical Books begins by exploring the components of narrative-setting, characterization, and plot-and then develops the major theological themes in each of the Old Testament historical books (Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1-2 Samuel, 1-2 Kings, 1-2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, and Esther). As readers work through Interpreting the Historical Books, they will begin to see and interpret the narrative writings as the writings were intended to be understood. A glossary defining technical words and samples of moving from exegesis to proclamation make this handbook practical and user-friendly. All written by accomplished teacher-scholars at leading evangelical schools, forthcoming handbooks include the following: Interpreting the Psalms Mark D. Futato (Reformed Theological Seminary, Orlando) Interpreting the Prophets Michael A. Grisanti (The Master's Seminary) Interpreting the Wisdom Literature Richard L. Schultz (Wheaton College) Interpreting Apocalyptic Literature Richard A. Taylor (Dallas Theological Seminary) Interpreting the Pentateuch Peter T. Vogt (Bethel Seminary)

This second contribution to the Handbooks for Old Testament Exegesis series continues the admirable tradition set by Robert B. Chisholm Jr. in Interpreting the Historical Books. A valuable resource for pastors and students, Interpreting the Psalms begins by explaining the nature of Hebrew poetry and the purpose of the Psalms. An accomplished scholar of the Psalms, Mark Futato next explores issues related to properly interpreting Israel's songbook, and concludes with a sample of moving from interpretation to proclamation. A glossary is included.