It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Philosophy: Online Resources
This subject guide suggests the best sources to begin your study of philosophy and philosophers. Use the reference sources to get an overview of philosophers’ work, philosophical schools, and philosophical concepts.
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,800 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,600 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals.
Media: Online database Access: Campus-wide and Internet Content: Abstracts; Full TextThe database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,460 journals.
Book Review Digest Plus is an essential library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources.
Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works. This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development.
•A citation to every book review that appears in any of over 5,000+ indexed journals
•Over two million reviews, including citations, generous excerpts from book reviews, over 225,000 full-text reviews, and over 118,000 new reviews added each year
•“Master” records for each book, with links to reviews from various sources
•Retrospective coverage as far back as 1983
•Coverage of books for children with a suggested grade range
Humanities Full Text provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
•Full-text articles from over 330 journals
•High-quality indexing of nearly 700 periodicals
•Periodical coverage dating as far back as 1910
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is recognized worldwide because of its comprehensive coverage, high-quality information, and rigorous editorial control. The database is the definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is a comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
With more than 300 full-text journals and unparalleled coverage of the subject areas listed above, the Religion & Philosophy Collection™ is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.