It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legal Cases: Online Resources
This guide explains how to find the text of court cases in the Mack Library. It first explains how to read legal citations and then gives strategies for finding the case in the library’s print collections as well as in its databases.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text™ is the full-text counterpart of Criminal Justice Abstracts™, formerly a SAGE database. This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text’s coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text contains more than 300,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
This resource includes full text for more than 200 magazines and journals, as well full-text books & monographs.
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Printing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,400 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline package offers special collections on Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law among others.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text provides complete coverage of the most important English-language legal information, including access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books Full Text also provides international coverage, including periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
•Indexing of over 1,000 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications, university publications, and government publications
•Full text for more than 400 periodicals—many of them peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1994
•Nearly 300 law reviews
"Justia is a legal media and technology company focused on making legal information, resources and services easy to find on the Internet. We provide free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog databases, as well as community resources." http://www.google.com/enterprise/superstars/justia.html
"We understand that divorce or separation proceedings can be a stressful and complicated process. Therefore, we have created this glossary to ensure you understand all aspects of the legal processes which you will need to follow." Home Page
"Searching the Web is easy. Why should searching the law be any different? That's why Fastcase has created the Public Library of Law -- to make it easy to find the law online. PLoL is one of the largest free law libraries in the world, because we assemble law available for free scattered across many different sites -- all in one place. PLoL is the best starting place to find law on the Web." Home page
"The Supreme Court consists of the Chief Justice of the United States and such number of Associate Justices as may be fixed by Congress. The number of Associate Justices is currently fixed at eight (28 U.S.C. §1). Power to nominate the Justices is vested in the President of the United States and appointments are made with the advice and consent of the Senate. Article III, §1, of the Constitution further provides that "[t]he Judges, both of the supreme and inferior Courts, shall hold their Offices during good Behavior, and shall, at stated Times, receive for their Services, a Compensation, which shall not be diminished during their Continuance in Office." Home page
"The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms." Home page
Finding Cases Online
To look online for court cases from both federal and state courts, use NexisUni
Once you’re in the NexisUni database, click the “Cases” under Guided Search.
By keyword. If you know neither the citation nor the name of a case, you can search by keyword in the main search box, for example, “first amendment” or “gun control.” You can limit your search to cases from particular jurisdictions, such as cases from just federal courts or from just the courts of a particular state.