Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cambridge Core with Histories
"Cambridge Core is a brand new platform for Cambridge University Press's academic content. Our book and journal content has been brought together for the first time on Cambridge Core: a sophisticated, high-performance replacement for Cambridge Journals Online and Cambridge Books Online." About page
Gale E-Books is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Portions of the books and articles can be downloaded to your reader as a PDF. Follow instructions in the Help Guide tab on the home page.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the volution of the English language over the last millenium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half an million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Oxford Music Online
8 concurrent users are allowed on this database. From the search box, researchers will access integrated data from the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2e, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz 2e, The Grove Dictionary of American Music 2e, and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments 2e, as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Grove Music Online also includes access to The Oxford Companion to Music (2011), The Oxford Dictionary of Music 2e (revised 2006), and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music 4e. Grove Music Online includes more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world with sophisticated search and browse capabilities, and audio musical examples.
Salem History is the online version of print reference works in history. The titles include Milestone Documents, The Decades Series, Great Lives From History, Great Events From History . The set Milestone Documents includes full-text primary source documents with expert analysis and commentary.
Subjects: About the Mack Library
, BJU Course Guides
, Distance Learning
, How to Guides
, Science & Technology