LibGuides: Nursing Student Resources: Online Resources

Nursing Resources

Be sure to check INDY for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. INDY will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.

Subjects Covered: General Reference
AHFS Consumer Medication Information This link opens in a new window
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. AHFS is published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists—long recognized as an authority on educating patients about drug use and safety, and a founding member of the National Council on Patient Information and Education (NCPIE) AHFS has been a Top Ten Award Winner in the Department of Health and Human Services National Consumer Education Materials Contest.

America's Health Rankings
America's Health RankingsTM is the longest running annual assessment of the nation's health on a state-by-state basis. Over the past 20 years, America's Health RankingsTM has evolved from a source of information for limited audiences to a robust, interactive tool that urges all populations and communities to take action to improve health.
BioMed Central
A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer Health Complete™ (CHC) is the single-most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference is an easy to use tool for research projects and homework. A giant online collection that searches hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations and subject specific titles as well as 200,000+ images and audio files and nearly 1000 videos.
Create concept maps for STEM topics; Comprehensive
Topic Pages; D-K Eyewitness series books on science,
health and medicine, technology, and engineering. STEAM
Jobs in and STEM Everyday book series
STEM Everyday series

Diabetes Care
Full text coverage: Jul 1996 (Volume 19, Issue 7) - current
ECG Quiz
This website is devoted to electrocardiogram (ECG) interpretation. It is dedicated to all health care professionals, especially those who are involved in patient triage. Adequate ECG interpretation allows rapid patient referral to acute PCI, pacemaker implantation or cardiac surgery, when indicated.
eMed Expert
eMedExpert.com provides up-to-date medical health information for health professionals, patients and their families. The content is well-referenced and continuously reviewed for accuracy and timeliness.
eMedicine
Medscape from WebMD is a part of WebMD Health Professional Network that includes theHeart.org and eMedicine.com. Visit our corporate website for investor information, corporate management and press releases related to WebMD.
Florence Nightingale
Facts about Florence Nightingale.

Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive consumer health resource provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices.
An updated, easy-to-navigate interface featuring quick links to hot topics and top-searched conditions as well as diseases and overviews
More than 1,000 top medical journals and periodicals as well as articles from more than 2,200 general-interest publications — more than 75% in full-text
Medical newspapers, newsletters and news feeds
A broad collection of full-text reference works including The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders, The Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Medical Health Information Directory and many others
Streaming video with transcripts from Healthology, Illumistream and NBC
Links to trusted health-related Web sites
An improved Directory Search for accessing contact information for clinics, medical centers and foundations
Reputable sources including Medical and Health Information Directory and various Thomson Healthcare drug guides

Georgetown's School of Nursing & Health Sciences
This resource shares 25+ financial aid scholarships for current students and potential nurses and healthcare practitioners to supplement the cost of education or professional development endeavors.

Information on where to find scholarships and grants is supplied as well as best practice tips for applications. Also highlighted within the resource are specific opportunities dedicated to minority demographics in the nursing field such as men, nontraditional students, American Indians, citizens of Hispanic heritage, and more. The featured scholarships are current for 2022 and are provided by trusted organizations in the field.
Health Informatics - Discover Data Science
"Earning a Master’s in Health Informatics can open the door to a rewarding career leveraging data to help healthcare payers and providers make better-informed decisions. Health care systems are saturated with data. Medical and billing codes that codify patient data, physiological data gathered by health care providers, procedures for insurer and government payment processes, are just a few limited examples of the data types that are shuttled back and forth between the patient, provider, and payer (this is assuming that the patient isn’t also the direct payer)." Title page

Gale One-File: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

History of Medicine
Free electronic version of the Directory of History of Medicine Collections.
Human Body Maps
"BodyMaps is an interactive visual search tool that allows users to explore the human body in 3-D. With easy-to-use navigation, users can search multiple layers of the human anatomy, view systems and organs down to their smallest parts, and understand in detail how the human body works." Home page
Journal of Christian Nursing
Journal of Christian Nursing (JCN) offers relevant peer-reviewed clinical and professional information, including original research, on: current issues and trends, spirituality and spiritual care, ethics, values, healing and wholeness, faith community nursing, healthcare missions, nursing education, personal growth and self-care, health care for the poor and disenfranchised, and nursing care experiences which promote excellence and encourage nurses.
Knowledge Door
Chemistry, math, science, and more at this site.

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
LearningExpress Library, available in South Carolina, is a whole new experience! It is a completely redesigned site that is touch-enabled and tablet-ready. Experienced users know the value of this resource that provides free access to practice exams, interactive tutorials, and an ebook collection to help learners succeed in the workplace and in school. Version 3.0 is the enhanced platform for this product and is bursting with new features and functionality, including easy-to-use navigation, timed and untimed test modes, individualized study plans, and a learning roadmap.

Medical Heritage Library
The 100,000th item to has been added to the Medical Heritage Library. The Medical Heritage Library (MHL) brings together a huge curated collection of digitised works related to health and medicine in the 19th and 20th centuries, drawn from some of the most important medical history libraries in North America and the United Kingdom. Home page

MEDLINE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This exceptional database provides an unprecedented amount of full text for the most prominent journals used in the field of medical research. MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and contains full text for thousands of journals included in the index. This collection also provides full text for many of the most used medical journals – with no embargo.

Medline Plus
"MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free." About Page
more...less...
"You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition." About Page
MEDLINE/PubMed
Media: Internet Site
MEDLINE/PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 11 million citations dating back to the mid-1960's. Coverage is worldwide.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
more...less...
NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) External Web Site Policy, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans (now America's Health Insurance Plans [AHIP]).

The NGC mission is to provide physicians and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers, and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.
Nurse Journal
New social community for nurses worldwide.
Nursing eBook Collection (EbscoHost eBooks)
eBook Collection from EbscoHost includes over 2,200 books in full text related to the field of nursing.
Nursing eBooks via Gale Virtual Library
9 eBooks available for research in the field of Medicine.
Nursing Licensure
License information state by state.
Nursing School 411
If you are looking for a career where you can help people while also earning excellent compensation in one of the fastest growing career fields, pursuing a degree in nursing may be a good fit for you. Nursing Schools 411 is a comprehensive guide that will provide you with essential information about nursing careers and school options for earning a degree to start or advance your career.
Nursing Scholarships for Men
Our team at NurseJournal.org compiled a list of some of the best nursing scholarships available for men of all backgrounds, from individuals enrolled in a college to individuals who have served in the military.

OVID
Use this link to go instantly to the Journal of Christian Nursing.

Practical Clinical Skills
We provide free, online medical training aids for auscultation, EKG, taking blood pressure and carotid bruit exams. Our focus is our interactive websites that complement classroom and clinical training.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central is a free digital repository that archives open access full-text scholarly articles that have been published in biomedical and life sciences journals. As one of the major research databases developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, PubMed Central is more than a document repository. Wikipedia
Registered Nursing
Many people are drawn to being a nurse but far less actually achieve it. Whether it's giving up on finding the right school, not finding ways to pay for it, or quitting during the program, sadly many great individuals do not end up graduating. We're here to help.

Rittenhouse R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The R2 Digital Library is a web based database available from Rittenhouse Book Distributors. It offers fully integrated and searchable medical, nursing and allied health source book content from key health science publishers, on a web based platform.
Salem Health This link opens in a new window
Salem Health offers libraries a user-friendly interface that provides all the content of our printed resource. Along with the complete articles and sidebars from the printed sets, also included are hundreds of photographs, illustrations, indexes, appendixes, and directories. Plus, users get terrific online tools to enhance the value of this great reference source.

SC Hospital Jobs
Find your next South Carolina hospital or healthcare job on SCHospitalJobs.com! Sponsored by the South Carolina Hospital Association, SCHospitalJobs.com helps you locate jobs in nursing, physical therapy, radiology, orthopedics and much more. Search for healthcare jobs, register for free emailed job alerts, research South Carolina hospitals and learn about South Carolina healthcare licensing and regulations. Best of all, everything is free for all healthcare professionals!
Science Daily
ScienceDaily is one of the Internet's leading online magazines and Web portals devoted to science, technology, and medicine. The free, advertising supported service brings you breaking news about the latest discoveries and hottest research projects in everything from astrophysics to zoology.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Mack Library subscribes to the ScienceDirect College Edition Journal Collection in the Health and Life Sciences. ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. There are over 2.75 million articles from 1994 to the present.
Scientific American Archive This link opens in a new window
We have the Archives from 1948 - 2011 just purchased by PASCAL. For over 150 years, Scientific American has been the place to turn for understandable, authoritative reporting on the spectacular developments that have taken place in every field of science. Here members of libraries and other institutions can access the complete editorial pages of the magazine published since January 1948 in high-quality PDF files.
Sport Discus with Full Text
This database is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. SPORTDiscus with Full Text is an essential tool for health professionals, researchers and students, providing extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers 2,580 fully peer-reviewed journals and 43,690 books online.

SpringerLink Nursing Articles
More than 105,000 articles when searching for nursing articles.

StatRef - Online This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref, the premier healthcare e-resource. This link enables users to intuitively take advantage of all the robust features of STAT!Ref. Including access to download our mobile app, evidence alerts, Anatomy & Physiology Online, AAFP Conditions A to Z, MedCalc 3000 all from one intuitive interface.
StatRef - AAFP Conditions A to Z This link opens in a new window
AAFP Conditions A to Z is a handy patient-information tool that’s been written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). The AAFP is a national medical organization representing more than 93,700 family physicians, family practice residents and medical students. Many are also available in Spanish. Common conditions, treatments and health tips are presented concisely and informatively, and listed alphabetically or cross-searched in STAT!Ref online. Print the information for your patients to enhance understanding and health promotion.
StatRef - Med Calc 3000 This link opens in a new window
MedCalc 3000 is a collection of over 520 calculators, clinical criteria sets and decision trees that are indispensable to anyone practicing, teaching or studying evidence-based medicine. This resource is integrated in to STAT!Ref and included with every subscription. With every search you perform, STAT!Ref automatically presents links to relevant tools within MedCalc 3000.
StatRef Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window
3D Primal Pictures in Anatomy TV. This online resource covers all a student needs to know and learn for a 2 semester Anatomy & Physiology course.
There are 20 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection
slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and
much more. Each module contains: An overview and clear learning objectives • Key concepts and processes
• 3D image and interactive models • Narrated animations and illustrations • Quizzes and reviews
• Pronunciation guides to key medical terms • Clinical case studies for each system • Clinical test • The effects of aging

ASHA Journals accessed via EBSCO

ASHA Journals are available to the present via EBSCO databases and found by keying in the title using INDY. The links here should open in INDY giving you a search box for journal you've chosen. If you right click and choose open in new tab then you can go back to the LibGuide and choose another journal. or Control click on MacBook.

ASHA Leader

American Journal of Audiology

American Journal of Speech-Language Pathology

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research

Language, Speech & Hearing Services in Schools