LibGuides: Journalism &amp; Mass Communication: Book, Journal Articles and Film Resources

Ebook Collection

The ebooks available in Ebsco eBook Collection may be browsed on the left of window by clicking on eBooks in the blue toolbar at the top of the window.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
150,721 eBooks. Search and view the full text of ebooks. Most of the books in the collection are unlimited user access, but if you get a message—Sorry, this eBook is in use—it means another person has the book open and using it. Try again later. The books that have a download symbol, can be borrowed for 14 days on your device. The Bluefire App is the one used for Apple and Android devices. The desktop computer needs Digital Editions. For Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send To Kindle.

"Featured Collections offer titles covering a range of different topic areas from within a particular subject. EBSCO's Collection Development librarians hand-select titles to ensure that these collections contain quality content, and include frontlist titles whenever possible. Titles are owned in perpetuity." Website.
Titles include the ME Sharpe Reference Collection

Periodical Literature (ex. Academic Journals)

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.

Newspapers

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source™ Plus includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as the Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others.

All staff articles are also included from many newspapers, including The Philadelphia Inquirer, Houston Chronicle, Star Tribune (Minneapolis), etc.

Wall Street Journal at BJU

Mack Library presents Wall Street Journal partnership at Bob Jones University.

Members of BJU are invited to sign up for your personal account at https://wsj.com/BJU

Your membership provided by BJU includes: Unlimited access to WSJ.com and the WSJ app; exclusive events, offers and complimentary e-books; curated WSJ newsletters, including The 10-Point; podcasts and discussions with editors and notable influencers.

Wall Street Journal print edition is also available at the library.

NewsBank
NewsBank, inc. has been a premier information provider for more than 45 years. Our comprehensive resources meet the diverse research needs of public libraries, colleges and universities, schools, military and government libraries, and professionals around the world. NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Using these online resources, researchers in libraries around the world can easily explore tens of millions of current and archived news articles and obituaries in order to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national and international levels. NewsBank also offers online educational resources covering all academic curricula. Aligned with state standards and targeting all subject areas, NewsBank's school-focused solutions include primary sources and inquiry-based projects that support learning, enhance research and help develop critical thinking skills.
State (SC) Collection (NewsBank)
Explore Columbia history through local news, events and people with The State Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Online Film & Video Collections

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investment.

Subjects Covered: General Reference