It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Research: Other Sources
A guide to the online resources that history majors can use for their research.
Digital History is committed to providing high-quality historical resources for teachers and students for free and without advertising. We have been fortunate to develop partnerships with a number of archives and museums that share this vision and have granted us permission to draw upon their resources
"Mary Stuart was born at Linlithgow Palace on 7th December 1542, the daughter of James V of Scotland and Mary of Guise. Six days after her birth her father died, and she became Queen of Scotland." The Story
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is recognized worldwide because of its comprehensive coverage, high-quality information, and rigorous editorial control. The database is the definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Book Review Digest Plus is an essential library tool that brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources.
Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of the reviews are serious, academic works. This invaluable resource for literary and biographical research is essential for readers’ advisory and collection development.
•A citation to every book review that appears in any of over 5,000+ indexed journals
•Over two million reviews, including citations, generous excerpts from book reviews, over 225,000 full-text reviews, and over 118,000 new reviews added each year
•“Master” records for each book, with links to reviews from various sources
•Retrospective coverage as far back as 1983
•Coverage of books for children with a suggested grade range