It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History Research: Online Resources
A guide to the online resources that history majors can use for their research.
Be sure to check INDY for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. INDY will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
Available in five comprehensive series:
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1684-1820)
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837)
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852)
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865)
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,800 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,600 journals, and searchable cited references for more than 1,400 journals.
Media: Online database Access: Campus-wide and Internet Content: Abstracts; Full TextThe database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,460 journals.
ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) with ATLASerials PLUS™ (ATLAS PLUS™) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Eleanor Roosevelt was one of the most significant American women of the twentieth century, and remains one of the most admired. As First Lady, journalist, activist, diplomat, Democratic Party leader, and public speaker, ER helped shape not only the United States but also the United Nations and the path we still follow toward the greater protection of human rights.
In 1982, President Ronald Reagan asked Lee Iacocca, then Chairman of Chrysler Corporation, to head a private sector effort to raise funds for the restoration and preservation of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation (SOLEIF) was founded.
The Foundation's fundraising drive sparked a dramatic response. The American people contributed more than $500 million (and counting!) to the repair, restoration, and maintenance of these two great monuments to freedom. All funds for the Foundation’s projects have come from the American people – no government funds have been used.
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes full text for more than 1,200 journals.
The ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database (PQDT) is recognized worldwide because of its comprehensive coverage, high-quality information, and rigorous editorial control. The database is the definitive guide to more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Offering a unique, interdisciplinary approach to U.S. History and Culture, Sharpe Online Reference (SOLR) explores the broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues that have shaped the nation from colonial times to the present day. This collection of links provides direct access to nearly 650 carefully selected and vetted Web sites.
Search the Social Security Death Index by entering one or more fields in the form and clicking on the "submit" button. Keep in mind that the more fields you fill in the more restricted your results will be (and you may even eliminate the record you are seeking).
U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.
Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
Unlike other sources that only offer periodical or bibliographic information, this broad collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents and scholarly analysis includes:
•More than 185,000 reference articles, including the best titles from Macmillan Reference USA™, Charles Scribner’s Sons® and other top publishers
•Select articles from more than 95 new Gale reference titles not previously available
•613,000+ periodical articles from respected publications like Newsweek, American Heritage and The Historian
•Easy to search galleries containing more than 73,000 images and 1,500+ seals, maps and flags
•More than 9,100 viewpoint essays
•Nearly 5,000 primary documents
•Video and audio from NBC, NPR and other reliable sources
•The ability to cross-search World History in Context with a subscription to both products
Heritage Collections is part of the University of Exeter Library with responsibility for Special Collections and the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum.
The Special Collections and Bill Douglas Cinema Museum teams manage the University's unique and distinct collections of archives, rare books, film memorabilia and objects which can be accessed via our reading room, housed in the Research Commons, Old Library.
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Our mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.
World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to ensure that the events, movements and individuals that defined, informed and shaped world history are covered with a sense of balance. For example:
•European history recounts the events that shaped the continent and defined international relations and global history — including two world wars, the Cold War, genocide and the rise and fall of Communism
•Asian history recounts the events from Bronze Age China to modern India, including the events of the 20th century that revolved around Communism in China and revolution in South East Asia
•African, Indian and Latin American history coverage includes the end of colonization in Africa and India, as well as the political and social movements in Latin America