Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Documents Published Electronically
More and more sources are being made available on the
Internet, from libraries, museums, archives, and government agencies. The
following is a select list of some websites that offer primary sources.
A Look Back at Braddock District
Primary sources and oral histories of Braddock District in Fairfax County, Virginia.
A repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Its purpose is to make unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories electronically accessible.
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
This site provides links to online versions of various documents (journals, letters, charters, grants, speeches, etc.) related to the history of America. Documents range from 1400-2000. Search by time period.
American Memory is the catch-all project for the Library of Congress’s digitization of primary sources. The sources are organized into collections by date, subject or type of material. Many types of primary sources are included.
Army Heritage Collection Online
This site, provided by the U.S. Army, presents the Army's history through photographs, documents (including field manuals), and descriptions of artifacts. The entire site can be searched by keyword. Individual collections can be browsed.
Every life has a story. Biography.com captures the most gripping, surprising and fascinating stories about famous people. The last fateful day. The decision that changed everything. The moment of cheating death. The biggest break. The defining opportunity. The most shattering failure. The unexpected connection. With over 7,000 biographies and daily features that highlight newsworthy, compelling and surprising points-of-view, we are the digital source for true stories about people that matter. About page
British History Online
"British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles. Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust, we aim to support academic and personal users around the world in their learning, teaching and research." Home page
British Library: Online Gallery
Find a wide range of manuscripts, photographs, and sound recordings relating to Britain's history at this site. Collections include (among many others) illustrated manuscripts, maps of Britain from 800 to 1600, and photographs of Victorian Britain. To see the complete list of collections, click on Collections in the menu at the top of the page. The site is provided by the British Library.
British National Archives
The National Archives of the United Kingdom offer online exhibitions and some government records and genealogical data.
Carlyle Letters Online
The letters of Thomas Carlyle and Jane Welsh Carlyle.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) seeks to build up the church by making classic Christian literature widely available and promoting its use for edification and study by interested Christians, seekers and scholars. The CCEL accomplishes this by selecting, collecting, distributing, and promoting valuable literature through the World Wide Web and other media.
This project of the Library of Congress is digitizing newspapers and making them available online. Includes digitized versions of some papers and information about the publication and holdings of nearly every newspaper published in the United States.
Darwin Correspondence Project
A collection of the correspondence of Charles Darwin.
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Primary sources about Japanese Americans incarcerated during World War II.
Digital Collections, Univ. of Virginia
The library at the University of Virginia offers electronic texts of thousands of books.
Digital History is committed to providing high-quality historical resources for teachers and students for free and without advertising. We have been fortunate to develop partnerships with a number of archives and museums that share this vision and have granted us permission to draw upon their resources
Digital Library and Archives, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
This site contains about 18 electronic journals. Most of the journals are related to science and technology; however, some social science/humanities journals are available such as ALAN (Assembly on Literature for Adolescents) and Women in Literacy and Life Assembly. You can search by journal or keyword.
Digitized Primary American History Sources
Use this site to find collections of documents (such as maps and charters) related to American history. Browse five major categories: General Sources, Topical Sources, Works of the Presidents, Photographs/Illustrations/Cartoons, and the U.S. in Conflict.
Documenting the American South
This site provides access to text, images, and audio files related to Southern culture, history, and literature. Materials span from the colonial period through the 20th century. The materials come from the holdings of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
In 1982, President Ronald Reagan asked Lee Iacocca, then Chairman of Chrysler Corporation, to head a private sector effort to raise funds for the restoration and preservation of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation (SOLEIF) was founded.
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook now contains thousands of sources.
Georgia Digital Library
Aggregates and organizes the digital holdings of many Georgia libraries. The primary sources all related to the history of Georgia.
Google Books has digitized the holdings of many academic libraries. Most of those books are searchable. Books now in the public domain are often available in full text.
History Engine: Tools for Collaborative Research
"The History Engine is an educational tool that gives students the opportunity to learn history by doing the work—researching, writing, and publishing—of a historian. The result is an ever-growing collection of historical articles or "episodes" that paints a wide-ranging portrait of life in the United States throughout its history and that is available to scholars, teachers, and the general public in our online database." Home page
A website that collects sources about Hurricanes Katrina and Rita.
The public's library and digital archive - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
LDS Family History Centers
Family history websites easily searchable.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation's oldest federal cultural institution and serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, maps and manuscripts in its collections.
Making of America - Cornell
A collection from Cornell University of digitized books and journals from the nineteenth century.
Making of America - University of Michigan
A collection from the University of Michigan of digitized books and journals from the nineteenth century.
Making the History of 1989
An exhibition, sponsored by the Center for History and New Media, that offers primary sources and analysis of the year that the Berlin Wall fell, along with several Communist regimes.
Michigan Historical Markers
Pictorial journey around Michigan via historical markers.
Minnesota Reflections now brings you nearly 45,000 images and documents shared by more than 98 cultural heritage organizations across the state. This site offers a variety of resources on Minnesota's history for researchers, educators, students, and the public. We add throughout the year so check back often.
Primary sources via the National Archives website. From About Us page: "The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. Of all documents and materials created in the course of business conducted by the United States Federal government, only 1%-3% are so important for legal or historical reasons that they are kept by us forever."
A cooperative project to digitize Nebraska-related historical and cultural heritage materials.
New York State Digital Collection
Digital sources from the New York State Archives, the New York State Museum, and the New York State Library.
Old Bailey Online
Records of nearly 200,000 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court, from 1674 to 1913. Self-described as "largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published."
Our Documents - 100 Milestones
A list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
"The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL), hosted by the H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies of Calvin College and Calvin Theological Seminary, is a select bibliography that organizes the vast array of digital sources on the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.) now available on the web." About PRDL tab
World War I Postcards Online
Presidential Recordings Program
Audio recordings of meetings and telephone conversations from the presidencies of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Dwight Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon Johnson, and Richard Nixon. The website is sponsored by the University of Virginia.
Sources listed with urls chronologically. 500 BC to 1800 AD
This site houses a collection of more than 40,000 electronic books and journals. The full text of all works is available. Here you will find a broad range of materials from Cicero's Academica (in English and Latin) to Charles Dickens's A Tale of Two Cities .
Slave Narratives - Born in Slavery
Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project 1936-1938
Social Security Death Index
Search the Social Security Death Index by entering one or more fields in the form and clicking on the "submit" button. Keep in mind that the more fields you fill in the more restricted your results will be (and you may even eliminate the record you are seeking).
South Carolina Digital Library
Aggregates and organizes the digital holdings of several South Carolina libraries. The primary sources all related to the history of South Carolina.
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
A database of slave-trading voyages, including information about crew and slaves. Also includes summary statistics and secondary sources about the slave trade. Another database includes names of some 67,000 slaves transported in the Middle Passage.
Valley of the Shadow Archive
Civil War stories from primary sources.
Vincent van Gogh: The Letters
All the surviving letters written and received by Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890) are contained in this edition of his correspondence.11. Over and above the 902 surviving letters, there must have been at least 550 letters written to Van Gogh, and at least 290 letters written by Van Gogh that we no longer have (see Correspondents, Lost correspondence). Excepting only the digital form in which they are now being published, this is the continuation of a long tradition.
Web of Stories
"Watch and listen to a story. There are few things more interesting or more pleasurable than to watch someone tell a good story. And one story always leads to another. You know how it is - you listen to someone tell a story and it reminds you of another one. One story leads to another, and together they make a "web" of many connected stories. " About page
Winona Newspaper Project
"The Darrell W. Krueger Library at Winona State University is pleased to make available an online archive of three late 19th century and early 20th century Winona newspapers. This archive includes available issues of the Winona Argus, the Winona Daily Republican and the Winona Republican Herald. The archive includes issues through 1960 and over 150,000 pages of text." Home page
Women Working, 1800-1930
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections.
Works of Jonathan Edwards Online
The online version of Jonathan Edwards’s works, intended both as a standalone resource and a supplement to the Yale printed edition. The website will eventually include his complete works.
Subjects: About the Mack Library
, BJU Course Guides
, Distance Learning
, How to Guides
, Science & Technology
The following websites list other websites that offer