Economics: Reference

This encyclopedia offers articles about economic concepts, important economists, and important events in the history of economics. Each article has a bibliography of books and journal articles for further reading.

Explains economic laws and theories (e.g., Gresham’s law). Sometimes requires understanding of advanced mathematics.

Brief explanations of the work of important economists. Includes references for further reading.

A comprehensive introductory resource with entries covering the development of money and the functions and dysfunctions of the monetary and financial system. The original edition of The Encyclopedia of Money won widespread acclaim for explaining the function--and dysfunction--of the financial system in a language any reader could understand. Now a decade later, with a more globally integrated, market-oriented world, and with consumers trying to make sense of subprime mortgages, credit default swaps, and bank stress tests, the Encyclopedia returns in an expanded new edition. From the development of metal and paper currency to the ongoing global economic crisis, the rigorously updated The Encyclopedia of Money, Second Edition is the most authoritative, comprehensive resource on the fundamentals of money and finance available. Its 350 alphabetically organized entries--85 completely new to this edition--help readers make sense of a wide range of events, policies, and regulations by explaining their historical, political, and theoretical contexts. The new edition focuses most intently on the last two decades, highlighting the connections between the onrush of globalization, the surging stock market, and various monetary and fiscal crises of the 1990s, as well as developments, scandals, and pocketbook issues making headlines today. 350 fully updated A-Z entries on the deveopment, functions, and dysfunctions of money, banking, and credit systems, including 85 new to this edition Dozens of photographs and illustrations of coinage and paper money from different times and places A glossary of key terms such as gross domestic product, capitalism, float, credit default swaps, and solvency An index offering access to entries by several criteria, including individuals involved and countries affected

This dictionary covers the terminology of the international financial marketplace. It provides concise and rigorous definitions of over 5,000 terms used in the accounting, banking, corporate finance, and investment management and insurance disciplines. It also includes formulae and diagrams, as well as commonly used acronyms and colloquialisms.

With over 5,100 entries on all aspects of finance and banking, this fully updated reference is definitely a worthwhile investment. Over 200 new entries have been added to this edition and it has been fully updated to reflect recent developments such as structured finance and the subprimelending crisis. The dictionary defines terms from personal and international finance - including money markets, private investments and borrowing, foreign exchanges, and public and government finance - and now offers expanded coverage of central banking, monetary policy, and financial institutions.Feature entries have been included in this edition for the fuller explanation of topical and complex areas, e.g. Financial Times Share Indexes, and bankruptcy law. Recommended up-to-date web links for many entries, accessed via the Dictionary of Finance and Banking companion website, providevaluable extra information that will be regularly updated. With clear and accessible definitions, this jargon-free dictionary is a perfect companion volume to the other financial titles in this best selling series - A Dictionary of Business and Management, A Dictionary of Accounting, and ADictionary of Economics - and provides accurate and valuable information for students, practitioners, private investors, and readers of the financial pages alike.

Everyday Finance: Economics, Personal Money Management, and Entrepreneurship provides a mix of basic and practical information on economics, personal money management, and starting a business. The authors show how various financial institutions and the stock market work; shed light on social security; examine basic business and accounting practices; and demonstrate how to manage and make money in everyday life. Everyday Finance contains 300 topical entries ranging in length from 250 to 1,500 words that are organized into 3 units: How the Economy Works, Personal Finance: Buying, Borrowing, Saving, and Insuring, and The World of Business. This set includes more than 200 photographs and 40 charts; extensive cross-references; sources for further study; and a cumulative general index.