It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biography: Online Resources
Find biographical information about all kinds of people: contemporaries and historical figures, famous and not-so-famous.
*From the intranet, select Academics and choose Libraries
*Click Online Resources, and then choose Find a LibGuide. Choose the Go to A to Z List in the blue box on the right.
*Select a database from the Alphabetical Listing.
*Enter CAS user name and password when prompted after clicking on the database.
Online resources are the best place to start looking for biographical information. Look at the list below for an online resource that is specific to your subject area or to the region of the world that the person comes from.
If you can't find what you need in the online resources, then check the suggested reference books or the library catalog.
Be sure to check Full Text Finder for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. Full Text Finder will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and send to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.
Full Text Finder lists all electronic journals and ebooks cited in electronic databases subscribed to by Mack Library in addition to our print titles. Periodical titles and ebooks may be searched alphabetically by title or by subject.
In 1982, President Ronald Reagan asked Lee Iacocca, then Chairman of Chrysler Corporation, to head a private sector effort to raise funds for the restoration and preservation of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation (SOLEIF) was founded.
The Foundation's fundraising drive sparked a dramatic response. The American people contributed more than $500 million (and counting!) to the repair, restoration, and maintenance of these two great monuments to freedom. All funds for the Foundation’s projects have come from the American people – no government funds have been used.
Gale E-Books is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Portions of the books and articles can be downloaded to your reader as a PDF. Follow instructions in the Help Guide tab on the home page.
8 concurrent users are allowed on this database. From the search box, researchers will access integrated data from the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2e, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz 2e, The Grove Dictionary of American Music 2e, and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments 2e, as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Grove Music Online also includes access to The Oxford Companion to Music (2011), The Oxford Dictionary of Music 2e (revised 2006), and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music 4e. Grove Music Online includes more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world with sophisticated search and browse capabilities, and audio musical examples.
Offering a unique, interdisciplinary approach to U.S. History and Culture, Sharpe Online Reference (SOLR) explores the broad range of events, people, movements, and political, social, economic, and cultural issues that have shaped the nation from colonial times to the present day. This collection of links provides direct access to nearly 650 carefully selected and vetted Web sites.
Heritage Collections is part of the University of Exeter Library with responsibility for Special Collections and the Bill Douglas Cinema Museum.
The Special Collections and Bill Douglas Cinema Museum teams manage the University's unique and distinct collections of archives, rare books, film memorabilia and objects which can be accessed via our reading room, housed in the Research Commons, Old Library.
U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today.
Providing a complete overview of U.S. history that covers the most-studied events, issues and current information, it combines documents from Primary Source Microfilm’s™ digital archives; articles from classic Macmillan Reference USA™ and Charles Scribner’s Sons® references; as well as other Gale proprietary content such as country and era overview information, and full-text periodicals and journals.
Unlike other sources that only offer periodical or bibliographic information, this broad collection of full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents and scholarly analysis includes:
•More than 185,000 reference articles, including the best titles from Macmillan Reference USA™, Charles Scribner’s Sons® and other top publishers
•Select articles from more than 95 new Gale reference titles not previously available
•613,000+ periodical articles from respected publications like Newsweek, American Heritage and The Historian
•Easy to search galleries containing more than 73,000 images and 1,500+ seals, maps and flags
•More than 9,100 viewpoint essays
•Nearly 5,000 primary documents
•Video and audio from NBC, NPR and other reliable sources
•The ability to cross-search World History in Context with a subscription to both products
World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to ensure that the events, movements and individuals that defined, informed and shaped world history are covered with a sense of balance. For example:
•European history recounts the events that shaped the continent and defined international relations and global history — including two world wars, the Cold War, genocide and the rise and fall of Communism
•Asian history recounts the events from Bronze Age China to modern India, including the events of the 20th century that revolved around Communism in China and revolution in South East Asia
•African, Indian and Latin American history coverage includes the end of colonization in Africa and India, as well as the political and social movements in Latin America