"Public health promotes and protects the health of people and the communities where they live, learn, work and play." (American Public Health Association https://www.apha.org/what-is-public-health).
For some helpful video tutorials on how to search PubMed and other similar sites do yourself a favor and check out the video tutorials available from the Welch Medical Library of Johns Hopkins University and Medicine.
While this guide is based on searching in the PubMed database, the strategies can be applied appropriately to other databases, such as Embase, CINAHL, PsycINFO, etc. (see search syntax for more information on search translation). For more information on searching in other databases, attend Lane's Literature Reviews Beyond PubMed: Crafting Effective Searches in Other Databases course.
This privately held company is not affiliated with manufacturers of health and nutrition products. It provides independent test results and information to help consumers and healthcare professionals evaluate health, wellness, and nutrition products.
The International Food Information Council Foundation, a non-profit organization whose mission is to communication reliable information about food and nutrition, provides information about many food questions.
OFRF is a non-profit organization founded in 1990 with the goal of advancing organic agriculture through scientific research. As a leading champion of organic farmers across the U.S., OFRF works to foster the improvement and widespread adoption of organic farming systems by cultivating organic research, education, and federal policies that bring more farmers and acreage into organic production. Through these efforts, OFRF is creating a more resilient and sustainable agricultural system that values healthy environments and healthy people. (About page)
"Your weight is a balancing act, and calories are part of that equation. Fad diets may promise you that counting carbs or eating a mountain of grapefruit will make the pounds drop off. But when it comes to weight loss, it's calories that count." Home page
PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.
CINAHL Complete is the world’s most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature and supports nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
This exceptional database provides an unprecedented amount of full text for the most prominent journals used in the field of medical research. MEDLINE Complete is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index and contains full text for thousands of journals included in the index. This collection also provides full text for many of the most used medical journals – with no embargo.
General Science Full Text, designed for students and non-specialists, is easy to use and the first place to look for answers to science-related questions.
The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Includes ScienceNOW and Science 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles.
Global Plants is an essential resource for institutions supporting teaching and research in botany, ecology, and conservation studies. Related JSTOR archival journal collections include the multi-discipline Life Sciences collection, as well as discipline-specific Ecology & Biology I and II, and Biological Sciences collections .About Page
"JSTOR Plant Science strives to be a comprehensive online research tool for aggregating and exploring the world’s botanical resources, thereby dramatically improving access for students, scholars, and scientists around the globe. It is useful for those researching, teaching or studying botany, biology, ecology, environmental and conservation studies." About page
Mack Library subscribes to the ScienceDirect College Edition Journal Collection in the Health and Life Sciences. ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. There are over 2.75 million articles from 1994 to the present.
"MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free." About Page
"You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition." About Page
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer. SpringerLink currently offers 2,580 fully peer-reviewed journals and 43,690 books online.
This link opens in a new window
