Fully revised and updated for the sixth edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology, either at school or university. With over 5,200 clear and concise entries, over 300 of them new to this edition, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology,biophysics, and biochemistry. Features include biographical entries on key scientists and highlighted entries on important topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure, with further reading suggestions. Appendices include classification of the animal and plantkingdoms; geological timescale; major mass extinctions of species; model organisms and their genomes; and Nobel prizewinners - the last two new to this edition.
This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.
What is epidemiology? What are the causes of a new disease? How can pandemics be prevented?Epidemiology is the study of the changing patterns of disease and its main aim is to improve the health of populations. It's a vital field, central to the health of society, to the identification of causes of disease, and to their management and prevention.Epidemiology has had an impact on many areas of medicine; from discovering the relationship between tobacco smoking and lung cancer, to the origin and spread of new epidemics. However, it is often poorly understood, largely due to misrepresentations in the media.In this Very Short Introduction Rodolfo Saracci dispels some of the myths surrounding the study of epidemiology. He provides a general explanation of the principles behind clinical trials, and explains the nature of basic statistics concerning disease. He also looks at the ethical and politicalissues related to obtaining and using information concerning patients, and trials involving placebos.
The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on health and aging. This one-volume resource captures some of the excitement of the research in the field in terms of new findings as well as conceptual developments guiding research, practice, and policy. With more than 200 entries, it covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within the health-care system. This Encyclopedia also focuses heavily on geriatrics with respect to geriatric syndromes and common diseases of aging.
A favorite for more than three decades among nursing and allied health instructors and students, Williams' Essentials of Nutrition & Diet Therapy provides focused nutrition coverage in an easy-to-read style presented in an attractive and colorful layout. Formerly known as Essentials of Nutrition & Diet Therapy, the ninth edition strives to both improve and enhance the book's reputation for solid core nutrition content, ensuring that the most up-to-date information and topics in this ever-changing field are addressed throughout. Wellness and health promotion are stressed, as are global nutrition issues and the ever-increasing recognition of the vital roles that culture and religion play in everyday dietary patterns, practices, and overall health. Content follows a logical progression of nutrition, separated into chapters organized by the basic principles of human nutrition, community nutrition throughout the life cycle,and an introduction to clinical nutrition related to a number of common disease states. Solid, up-to-date content is presented in an easy-to-read style. Hot topics in nutrition and diet are addressed including the low-carbohydrate/high-protein diet, the glycemic index and diabetes, food processing and labeling, genetics, and more. A new author team brings a wealth of nutrition know-how culled from years of classroom and clinical experience. A completely revamped art program uses color to illustrate complex nutrition concepts and highlight food sources of various nutrients. A new chapter on the complexity of obesity, contributed by well-respected obesity expert Dr. George Bray, uses an epidemiological model of the interactions between the environment and the human host to explain obesity as a disease. The new USDA food guidelines are incorporated throughout the book and uses artwork where appropriate. Each chapter now features a Health Promotion section devoted solely to health and wellness, part of an effort to stress healthy lifestyle choices and prevention as the best "medicine.". New Focus on Culture boxes detail cultural issues related to the topic at hand to help increase reader awareness of the critical, yet often overlooked, role culture plays in nutrition. New case studies include authentic, real-life scenarios to help illustrate key concepts that reinforce learning and promote critical thinking. Diet-Medications Interactions, Complementary and Alternative Medicine, and Focus on Food Safety sidebars spotlight newsworthy issues related to the chapter topic.