Skip to main content

Create Links to Articles: Home

BJU faculty who desire to share articles with their students from databases.

EZProxy String

The EZProxy string    http://ezproxy.bju.net/login?url=    must be added to any URL that requires the student to authenticate in order to access the item.  If EZProxy info is already in the url, it isn't necessary to add it again.

Saved Searches

Saved searches can also be shared with the students.

In EbscoHost Databases, create a search by searching the database, refining the search for years and full text and anything that meets your students' needs. Choose Alert/Save/Share in the corner of the result list and save the Permalink in the same way as for the article instructions.

In Gale Databases, create a search by searching the database, refining the search for years and full text and anything that meets your students' needs. Choose Bookmark on the right side of the result list and save the Bookmark in the same way as for the article instructions.

 

Other Databases

NOTE: Be sure to turn off the Pop-up Blocker or you won't see the PermaLink or the Bookmark pop up.

LexisNexis now has permalinking.
See their wiki at http://wiki.lexisnexis.com/academic/index.php?title=Permalink_Icon

Other online databases may have similar issues. Feel free to try the prefix in front of the url or contact me with a specific database and problems you may be having.

Search Library Catalog

Articles from Gale Databases

When you desire to share an article with your students from the Gale databases, Gale uses the Bookmark link in their system to allow this sharing. Copy the Bookmark and paste it in your BJU Online class.

  • Choose an article in a Gale database
  • Under tools, click on Bookmark this Document
  • A pop-up window will open with the url to copy.
  • Copy the Bookmark URL xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Paste the Bookmark URL into your LMS class.
Let me know if you need help.
 

Articles from EbscoHost Databases

 When you desire to share an article with your students from the EbscoHost databases, Ebsco uses the Permalink in their system to allow this sharing. Copy the Permalink and paste it in your BJU Online class.

    • Choose an article in an Ebsco database
    • Under tools, click on the paperclip icon
    • A pop-up window will open with the url to copy.
    • Copy the Permalink URL xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  • Paste the Permalink url into your LMS class.
EbscoHost has fixed their PermaLink to recognize our EZProxy whether on or off campus.  Let me know if you have any trouble accessing it.  If, however, you don't see EZProxy in the url then you must add this string to the front of the address: http://ezproxy.bju.net/login?url=    

Articles from JStor

Articles from JStor can be shared with students by copying the stable url (Uniform Resource Locator) address. The faculty member must add the prefix:     http://ezproxy.bju.net/login?url=       before the article url. When the prefix is not used, the student is not able to view the entire article, and is prompted to pay money in order to view it.

More information...