- A to Z Electronic Journals
A to Z lists all electronic journals cited in electronic databases subscribed to by Mack Library in addition to our print titles. Periodical titles may be searched alphabetically by title or by subject.
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,600 journals and a total of more than 13,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- American Chemical Society
The ACS web edition offers full text access to thirty-three journals including backfiles to 1996. Click on the Advanced Article Search tab or the A - Z journals.
- Arbor Day Foundation
"We inspire people to plant, nurture, and celebrate trees.
This is the mission statement of the Arbor Day Foundation, a 501(c)3 nonprofit conservation and education organization.
Founded in 1972, the centennial of the first Arbor Day observance in the 19th century, the Foundation has grown to become the largest nonprofit membership organization dedicated to planting trees, with over one million members, supporters, and valued partners." About us page
BioMedSearch is a biomedical search engine that contains NIH/PubMed documents, plus a large collection of theses, dissertations, and other publications not found anywhere else for free, making it the most comprehensive free search on the web. Registering for BioMedSearch is free
- Cool Science
"Through its grants to individuals and institutions, HHMI supports scientists and educators who seek to transform the way science is taught in schools, colleges and universities across the nation. Our grantees have created a wealth of resources that you can adapt to your own needs or use as inspiration for your own teaching." Educator page.
- GreenFile (EBSCO)
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- GreenR:Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources
"GREENR focuses on the academic study of sustainability and the environment. Both interactive and current, GREENR allows users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. A one-stop site, this resource provides news, background information, video, unique commentaries, primary source documents and statistics in highly accessible, visually appealing research areas, covering relevant categories including energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, economic development. One of the things that makes GREENR so user-friendly, is it does not look like the typical database product." Gale
- High Wire Press
More than 800,000 full-text articles from journals covering science and medical subjects can be found through this site. See access information in the column to the right of the title. Searchable by citation, journal, and author; advanced search available.
- I.O.P Institute of Physics
The site includes subscriptions to full text articles in electronic format for journals published by the Institute of Physics, except for the journals from the Astronomical Society that we have in print.
Arts & Science Collections I. II & III contain 397 titles emphasizing Archaeology, Art & Architecture, History, Literature, Music & the Performing Arts, Religion, and African, Latin American, Middle East studies. Arts & Science Collections V, VII and VIII contain at least 440 titles emphasizing Art and Art History, the Classics, Language, Literature, Religion and Social Sciences.
- JStor Plant Science
"JSTOR Plant Science is an online environment that brings together content, tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials, making them widely accessible to the plant science community as well as to researchers in other fields and to the public. It also provides an easy to use interface with powerful functionality that supports research and teaching, including the ability to measure and record plant specimens, share observations and objects with colleagues and classmates, and investigate global plant biodiversity." About Page
- Knowledge Door
Chemistry, math, science, and more at this site.
Liebert Online delivers electronic access to peer-reviewed journals published by Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. Our critical mass of content exceeds 28,000 papers from more than fifty-five authoritative journals, all full-text searchable and linked to external bibliographic databases.
- Marine Biology
"MarineBio's global mission is to share the wonders of the ocean to inspire conservation, education, research and a sea ethic." About page
- Marshall Cavendish Digital
Marshall Cavendish Digital is an electronic resource for six print titles in the Marshall Cavendish Reference collection: Animal and Plant Anatomy, Drugs and Society, Earth and Physical Sciences, Family Health, Great Writers of the Modern Era, How It Works, Life Sciences, Renaissance and Reformation, Technology and Applied Sciences.
- McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
"Spark your curiosity and enrich your scientific and technical research experience. MHEST.com is an innovative online complement to the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition. You'll find regularly updated content including animations, videos, audio interviews, article commentaries, links to related sites, and more." Home page
- NASA Images
NASA Images available via the Internet.
- NASA Multimedia Page
The Multimedia Page connects to slide shows and many pictures from NASA.
- National Science Digital Library
NSDL is the Nation's online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics.
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions. It provides rapid, authoritative, insightful and arresting news and interpretation of topical and coming trends in science. Includes 1997 to the current issue.
- Science and Technology of WWII
Timeline, lesson plans, and activities presenting the science and technology of WWII.
- Science Daily
ScienceDaily is one of the Internet's leading online magazines and Web portals devoted to science, technology, and medicine. The free, advertising supported service brings you breaking news about the latest discoveries and hottest research projects in everything from astrophysics to zoology.
- Science in Context (Gale)
Comprehensive curriculum-oriented database of reference and periodical content covering Life Science, Physical Science, Earth and Space Science
- More than 30 reference titles
- More than 300 periodicals, both general and scholarly
- Science Online
The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Includes ScienceNOW and Science 1997-current issue, except Science Express PDF articles.
A portal for science information from government agencies. Includes a subject directory to key science web sites and a database search engine.
Mack Library subscribes to the ScienceDirect College Edition Journal Collection in the Health and Life Sciences. ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. There are over 2.75 million articles from 1994 to the present.
- Scientific American Archive
For over 150 years, Scientific American has been the place to turn for understandable, authoritative reporting on the spectacular developments that have taken place in every field of science. Here members of libraries and other institutions can access the complete editorial pages of the magazine published since January 1993 in high-quality PDF files.
"Scirus is the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 460 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists' homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information." Website
- Smithsonian Physical Tables
Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press, this classic reference source includes 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.
- Why Files
Science behind the news. Maintained by the University of Wisconsin.