The three volumes of The Cambridge History of Religions in America trace the historical development of religious traditions in America, following both their transplantation from other parts of the world and the inauguration of new religious movements on the continent of North America.
Fundamentalism File (on-campus only)
Databases for articles
BJU students must use their CAS (campus login) user name and password in order to access databases. It is the same user name and password used to access email.
Be sure to check Full Text Finder for periodicals that may be fulltext in another database in our collection. Full Text Finder will also indicate the print subscription in our library, if we have it.
When the record states that an embargo is in place for a certain length of time, the publisher has refused to allow the digitization of the articles for the current months, year or years.
If we have the print subscription, then you may photocopy or scan articles to PDF and sent to your email.
If we don't have the print, then you may request articles via InterLibrary Loan from another school library by filling out the ILL form on our home page or choose the ILL tab in this LibGuide for easy access.
Full Text Finder lists all electronic journals and ebooks cited in electronic databases subscribed to by Mack Library in addition to our print titles. Periodical titles and ebooks may be searched alphabetically by title or by subject.
ATLA Religion Database® (ATLA RDB®) with ATLASerials PLUS™ (ATLAS PLUS™) combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's largest online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Full-text articles and reviews from more than 450 journals
Over 2.7 million records, including:
Indexing of 2200 journal titles in total, more than 900 of which are currently being indexed
More than 275,000 essay records
More than 387,000 book records
Once a stand-alone product specific to Catholicism, ATLA CPLI content now enhances ATLA RDB with the addition of more than 500,000 additional records
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. Updated monthly, ATLA Religion Database (ATLA RDB) contains over 1.8 million indexed records covering the research literature of religion in over 60 languages. Most coverage spans from 1908 to the present, while an ambitious retrospective indexing project provides citations of select titles back to their original publication date. Bibliographic records represent scholarship on major religions, faiths, denominations and languages.
Contains the editorial content of each issue of the bimonthly magazine Biblical Archaeology Review from 1975 to present, as well as five books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society (BAS): Ancient Israel: From Abraham to the Roman Destruction of the Temple, Aspects of Monotheism: How God Is One, Feminist Approaches to the Bible, The Rise of Ancient Israel and The Search for Jesus: Modern Scholarship Looks at the Gospels.
"The Blue Letter Bible now has over 4,000,000 links onsite to over 165,000 pages of concordances, lexicons, dictionaries, commentaries, images, and Bible versions! Our prayer is that you will enjoy the site, in Jesus' name! " Home page
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) seeks to build up the church by making classic Christian literature widely available and promoting its use for edification and study by interested Christians, seekers and scholars. The CCEL accomplishes this by selecting, collecting, distributing, and promoting valuable literature through the World Wide Web and other media.
A religious current events database featuring over 100,000 articles on religious topics or secular topics with a religious perspective. Detalled abstracts. Periodical articles are available in the Periodical room and by appointment only in the Fundamentalism File Room.
Throughout its history, America has witnessed the flourishing of many religions. Presently, it is one of the most religiously diverse and liberal countries in the world. The most popular religion in the United States is Christianity, which was introduced by European settlers after the founding of North America. It is now the religion for about 75% of the total population.
Content: Bibliographic Information Access: Campus-wide only (remote access not allowed)
Provides electronic accessing to the periodical index from 1993 forward. Indexes articles in the arts, politics, science, sociology, sports, literature, religion, entertainment, humanities, and psychology. Search by keyword or subject heading.
Theological Journals Online provides full text to twenty five religious journals including but not limited to Bibliotheca Sacra, Central Bible Quarterly, Detroit Baptist Seminary Journal, Grace Theological Journal, Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society, Masters Seminary Journal, Tyndale Bulletin.