Print-friendly edition
Download this PDF version of the LibGuide for convenient printing or personal reference.
Search Library Catalog
Introduction
Scope
Patristics is the study of the church fathers, the earliest Christian writers from the contemporaries of the apostles to the seventh or eighth century. Patristics is both a historical study of what the fathers did and a theological study of what they thought and believed.
The following lists of sources includes general reference works as well as general histories of the patristic era. This pathfinder includes only works in English, though most works on patristics have been written in other languages.
Retrieving Sources
To find works by or about individual church fathers, first search in the general reference sources. They will give you an overview and provide you with a bibliography of other sources. You can then use the library catalog to find those other sources, or to use the church father’s name in a keyword search.
Primary Sources
The sources below are the collected editions of the church fathers available in the Mack Library. (Other editions of specific works are also available.) The first four are print collection of the fathers in English. The last two are microfiche collections of the fathers in Greek and Latin (see also 281.1 C817 and REF 281.4 P276 for select print volumes).
LibGuides on History
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
A guide to sources about African American history
53 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 2, 2013
Find biographical information about all kinds of people: contemporaries and historical figures, famous and not-so-famous.
52 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
Find facts about countries—their geography, politics, economy, demographics, religions, educational systems, and the like.
47 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 2, 2013
A guide to the electronic resources that history majors can use for their research.
22 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
An overview of the resources and services available at the Mack Library Fundamentalism File.
467 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2011
Lists sources useful for studying the history of American Fundamentalism.
71 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 2, 2013
Holocaust resources available on the Internet
5 views this year
- Last Updated May 2, 2011
The intertestamental period, also called the second temple period, is the time between the writing of the last Old Testament book and the beginning of the events described in the New Testament.
193 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
This guide explains how to find the text of court cases in the Mack Library. It first explains how to read legal citations and then gives strategies for finding the case in the library’s print collections as well as in its databases.
35 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Introductory material on the Greco-Roman world, including its history, society, culture, religion, and literature, in relation to the expansion of early Christianity and the New Testament documents.
83 views this year
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Patristics is the study of the church fathers, the earliest Christian writers from the contemporaries of the apostles to the seventh or eighth century.
34 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2013
This subject guide suggests the best sources to begin your study of philosophy and philosophers. Use the reference sources to get an overview of philosophers’ work, philosophical schools, and philosophical concepts.
25 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 17, 2013
How to find primary sources, in print, in manuscripts, and in electronic formats.
49 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
Lists rare Bibles stored in the Library's Jerusalem Chamber and Special Collections.
304 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Variety of resources in print and online available through Mack Library's Reference Department
199 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 2, 2013
This guide suggests resources for the study of sixteenth-century Europe. The reference works provide background information about people, places, events, and movements.
10 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 5, 2013
Resources for exploring the history of the Middle East.
96 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 2, 2013
Covers all aspects of U.S. History
114 views this year
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
A guide to sources about women's history, both as its own subject and as a part of other fields of history.
16 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 4, 2013
Concentrates on historical resources in the areas of global studies and general world history.
57 views this year
LibGuides on Religion
- Last Updated Jun 29, 2011
Lists technical, conservative commentaries for the books of the Bible.
321 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
Software and online resources for studying the biblical text.
77 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Resources for Greek students at all levels.
150 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 26, 2011
Resources for Hebrew (and Aramaic) students at all levels.
81 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
A comprehensive list of outreach ministry resources (such as Sunday School materials, flannelgraph, puppets, etc) available for checkout, including photos.
49 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
This guide provides assistance in locating both the history and doctrine of religious denominations in America.
11 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
An overview of the resources and services available at the Mack Library Fundamentalism File.
467 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2011
Lists sources useful for studying the history of American Fundamentalism.
71 views this year
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
Key resources supporting the verbal inspiration of the Scriptures
5 views this year
- Last Updated May 2, 2011
The intertestamental period, also called the second temple period, is the time between the writing of the last Old Testament book and the beginning of the events described in the New Testament.
193 views this year
- Last Updated May 3, 2013
This guide covers the history of missions, cultures, methodologies and sponsoring organizations
80 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Introductory material on the Greco-Roman world, including its history, society, culture, religion, and literature, in relation to the expansion of early Christianity and the New Testament documents.
83 views this year
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Patristics is the study of the church fathers, the earliest Christian writers from the contemporaries of the apostles to the seventh or eighth century.
34 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2013
This subject guide suggests the best sources to begin your study of philosophy and philosophers. Use the reference sources to get an overview of philosophers’ work, philosophical schools, and philosophical concepts.
25 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
Lists rare Bibles stored in the Library's Jerusalem Chamber and Special Collections.
304 views this year
- Last Updated May 20, 2013
Variety of resources in print and online available through Mack Library's Reference Department
199 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 5, 2013
Guides you through the installation and configuration of Greek and Hebrew fonts, the use of the BJU Seminary Turabian wizard.
536 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
Indexes sermons in books at the Mack Library by preacher and Scripture passage. Includes call numbers and page references.
54 views this year
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
License

This Patristics LibGuide by Duncan Johnson and Lincoln Mullen is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at lgdata.s3-website-us-east-1.amazonaws.com.
You may reproduce any part of it as long as credit is included. I encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.




Loading...
