Classical Greek and Latin Texts
- TLG (Thesaurus Linguae Graecae)
Aims to provide the full text of all surviving Greek literature written from the time of Homer to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. - Ancient Reference Abbreviations
Key to standard abbreviations for Greek and Latin authors and their works. From the Interactive Ancient Mediterranean at the University of North Carolina. - Perseus Digital Library
The flagship collection here, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Other collections include art & archaeology as well as collections of Arabic, Germanic, 19th century American, and Renaissance sources. - Internet Ancient History Sourcebook: Main Page
The Internet Ancient History Sourcebook has expanded greatly since its creation, and now contains hundred of local files as well as links to source texts throughout the net. - The Internet Classics Archive: 441 searchable works of classical literature
Select from a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works (some Chinese and Persian), all in English translation. - Tyndale House's WWW links for biblical studies
The Graeco-Roman Background section is a more user-friendly entry/access point to the Perseus website. - K. C. Hanson's collection of sites relating to the Ancient Mediterranean
More than 250 Classified WWW sitesrelating to the Ancient Mediterranean. NOTA BENE: Last modified: 15 September 2004
Dissertation and Thesis Search
These are included mainly for those of you who are needing to verify whether someone has already written on your proposed topic/thesis. Some Ph.D. dissertations may be worthy to reference in your work, especially if there's otherwise little or no published material on your subject.
- TREN (Theological Research Exchange Network)
Provides citations of mainly master's theses but also some doctoral dissertations in theology and related disciplines, written for degrees at selected institutions. You may purchase a digital full text copy of some titles for $15.
Key Databases
- A to Z Electronic JournalsA to Z lists all electronic journals cited in electronic databases subscribed to by Mack Library in addition to our print titles. Periodical titles may be searched alphabetically by title or by subject.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
- ATLA Religion Index
Start here for articles and book essays in biblical studies, church history, theology, missions, linguistics and archaeology. It is also a good place to find book reviews on literature in these areas - JSTOR
Provides the full text of journal articles from a selected set of journals in history. The most recent articles from these journals (last 5 years on average) are not available in full text. - New Testament Abstracts
Focused on New Testament studies and biblical theology. Contains approx. 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, and 13,500 book abstracts.
LibGuides on Religion
- Last Updated Jun 29, 2011
Lists technical, conservative commentaries for the books of the Bible.
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
Software and online resources for studying the biblical text.
- Last Updated Jan 26, 2011
Resources for Hebrew (and Aramaic) students at all levels.
- Last Updated Apr 28, 2011
A comprehensive list of outreach ministry resources (such as Sunday School materials, flannelgraph, puppets, etc) available for checkout, including photos.
- Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
This guide provides assistance in locating both the history and doctrine of religious denominations in America.
- Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
An overview of the resources and services available at the Mack Library Fundamentalism File.
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2011
Lists sources useful for studying the history of American Fundamentalism.
- Last Updated Sep 20, 2011
Key resources supporting the verbal inspiration of the Scriptures
- Last Updated May 2, 2011
The intertestamental period, also called the second temple period, is the time between the writing of the last Old Testament book and the beginning of the events described in the New Testament.
- Last Updated Mar 30, 2012
This guide covers the history of missions, cultures, methodologies and sponsoring organizations
- Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
Introductory material on the Greco-Roman world, including its history, society, culture, religion, and literature, in relation to the expansion of early Christianity and the New Testament documents.
- Last Updated Aug 8, 2011
Patristics is the study of the church fathers, the earliest Christian writers from the contemporaries of the apostles to the seventh or eighth century.
- Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
This subject guide suggests the best sources to being your study of philosophy and philosophers. Use the reference sources to get an overview of philosophers’ work, philosophical schools, and philosophical concepts.
- Last Updated Nov 21, 2011
Lists rare Bibles stored in the Library's Jerusalem Chamber and Special Collections.
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2012
Variety of resources in print and online available through Mack Library's Reference Department
- Last Updated May 7, 2012
Guides you through the installation and configuration of Greek and Hebrew fonts, the use of the BJU Seminary Turabian wizard.
- Last Updated Jan 17, 2011
Indexes sermons in books at the Mack Library by preacher and Scripture passage. Includes call numbers and page references.
License

This work by Duncan Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
You may reproduce any part of it as long as credit is included. I encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.
Acknowledgments
This guide has been adapted (with permission) from materials prepared by Gregory Morrison, Head of Reference at Buswell Memorial Library, Wheaton College (IL).



Loading...
