Search Library Catalog
Welcome!
הַשָּׁמַ֗יִם מְֽסַפְּרִ֥ים כְּבֹֽוד־אֵ֑ל
וּֽמַעֲשֵׂ֥ה יָ֝דָ֗יו מַגִּ֥יד הָרָקִֽיעַ׃
Accurate Old Testament exegesis demands an understanding of biblical Hebrew, the original language of the majority of the OT. This guide lists resources available at the Mack Library for Hebrew students of all levels. Some of the included sources also address biblical Aramaic.
Selected BJU Hebrew Courses
- SOT 601 (ALH 411): Elementary Hebrew IIntroduction to the phonology, vocabulary, grammar and syntax of biblical Hebrew. Includes translation and analysis of selected passages in the Hebrew Bible.
- SOT 602 (ALH 412): Elementary Hebrew IIReinforcement and development in the basic principles of Hebrew grammar and syntax. Includes translation and analysis of selected portions of the Hebrew Bible.
- SOT 701 (ALH 511): Hebrew Exegesis IExegesis in the Hebrew text of selected passages from the prophets with emphasis on the practical application of Hebrew in sermon preparation.
- SOT 702 (ALH 512): Hebrew Exegesis IIReinforcement and development in the principles of exegesis and application through the analysis of selected Hebrew passages in the prophets.
- SOT 705: Biblical AramaicAramaic grammar with translation of the Aramaic portions of the Old Testament.
Beginning Textbooks
Hebrew text (Critical editions)
The Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia (BHS), an update of G. Kittel's 1906 Biblia Hebraica (BHK), is the standard text used for translations in the BJU Hebrew program. The text is nearly an exact copy of the Masoretic Text as recorded in the Leningrad Codex.
Although BHS is the current standard, other critical editions exist. The German Bible Society (publisher of BHS) is producing a new critical edition titled the Biblia Hebraica Quinta (BHQ), while the Mandel Institute of Jewish Studies at the Hebrew University is producing the Hebrew University Bible and Oxford University Press is producing the Oxford Hebrew Bible.
Hebrew text (Readers' editions)
The primary benefit of these Reader's editions is the footnotes with basic dictionary glosses for less-common terms located at the bottom of each page. This can be immensely helpful, but students need to realize that these helps are off-limits for most class translation assignments.
LibGuides on Religion
- Last Updated Jun 29, 2011
Lists technical, conservative commentaries for the books of the Bible.
389 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
Software and online resources for studying the biblical text.
98 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Resources for Greek students at all levels.
198 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 26, 2011
Resources for Hebrew (and Aramaic) students at all levels.
99 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
A comprehensive list of outreach ministry resources (such as Sunday School materials, flannelgraph, puppets, etc) available for checkout, including photos.
54 views this year
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
This guide provides assistance in locating both the history and doctrine of religious denominations in America.
16 views this year
- Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
An overview of the resources and services available at the Mack Library Fundamentalism File.
540 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 26, 2011
Lists sources useful for studying the history of American Fundamentalism.
86 views this year
- Last Updated May 2, 2013
Key resources supporting the verbal inspiration of the Scriptures
9 views this year
- Last Updated May 2, 2011
The intertestamental period, also called the second temple period, is the time between the writing of the last Old Testament book and the beginning of the events described in the New Testament.
223 views this year
- Last Updated May 3, 2013
This guide covers the history of missions, cultures, methodologies and sponsoring organizations
95 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Introductory material on the Greco-Roman world, including its history, society, culture, religion, and literature, in relation to the expansion of early Christianity and the New Testament documents.
100 views this year
- Last Updated Nov 1, 2012
Patristics is the study of the church fathers, the earliest Christian writers from the contemporaries of the apostles to the seventh or eighth century.
38 views this year
- Last Updated Apr 18, 2013
This subject guide suggests the best sources to begin your study of philosophy and philosophers. Use the reference sources to get an overview of philosophers’ work, philosophical schools, and philosophical concepts.
25 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 7, 2013
Lists rare Bibles stored in the Library's Jerusalem Chamber and Special Collections.
398 views this year
- Last Updated May 27, 2013
Variety of resources in print and online available through Mack Library's Reference Department
210 views this year
- Last Updated Jan 5, 2013
Guides you through the installation and configuration of Greek and Hebrew fonts, the use of the BJU Seminary Turabian wizard.
585 views this year
- Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
Indexes sermons in books at the Mack Library by preacher and Scripture passage. Includes call numbers and page references.
61 views this year
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
License

This work by Duncan Johnson is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.
You may reproduce any part of it as long as credit is included. I encourage you to license your derivative works under Creative Commons as well to encourage sharing and reuse of educational materials.




Loading...
