Credo ReferenceGale Virtual Reference Library
This is the "Home Page" page of the "Reference Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Reference Resources  

Variety of resources in print and online available through Mack Library's Reference Department
Last Updated: May 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bju.edu/reference Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Page Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search BJU Mack Library Catalog

 

Introduction to Reference

Why use Reference Books?

Reference books supply background material or an introduction to the topic in addition to factual information on the subject.  The reference books listed present both the history and beliefs of denominations.

Definitions of Document/Source Types

Almanacs - "a. usually annual publication containing statistical, tabular, and general information."  Webster's Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary, 1991.

Encyclopedia - "a work that contains information on all brnches ofknowlege or trates comprehensively a particular branch of knowlevert usually in articles arranged alphabetically often by subject."  Webster's Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary, 1991.

Gazetteer - "Dictionary or encyclopedia listing alphabetically the names of places, political divisions, and physical features of the earth and giving some information about each."  Columbia Encyclopedia, 2003.

 

Introduction to Reference

Welcome to the Reference Department at the Mack Library

Reference resources provide a world of information for the library patron!  This unique collection contains both general and specialized factual works that provide the foundation for further research.  Furthermore, reference books offer descriptive backgrounds for many topics. 

They answer the Questions of

  • Who
  • What
  • When 
  • Why  

In our Reference collection you will find many types of resources, including:

  • Specialized and General Encyclopedias
  • Bibliographies on various topics
  • Statistical Resources
  • Handbooks 
  • Dictionaries 
 

What's New in Reference

To view the library catalog's complete list of new titles for the library collection click here

 

Cover Art
Computer Technology Innovators - Editors of Salem Press
Call Number: 004.0922 C7396
ISBN: 1429838051
Publication Date: March 2013

Cover Art
The New Lion Bible Encyclopedia - Mike Beaumont
Call Number: 220.3 B3838
ISBN: 0745955266
Publication Date: 2012-04-01

Cover Art
Pray the Scriptures Bible - Kevin Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: 220.5208 B471p
ISBN: 0764208578
Publication Date: 2012-11-01

Cover Art
Native Peoples of the World - Steven Danver (Editor)
Call Number: 305.8003 N21399
ISBN: 0765682222
Publication Date: 2012-11-05


Cover Art
Vintage [yearbook] - Bob Jones University
Call Number: 378.757 V79
Publication Date: 2013
The 2013 edition is now available. See Yearbook Case in first floor Main Reading Room.

Cover Art
Chases Calendar of Events 2013 - Chase's Calendar of Events Editors
Call Number: 394.2 C386 2013
ISBN: 9780071801171
Publication Date: 2012-09-18

Cover Art
Contemporary Biographies in Physics - Salem Press (Editor)
Call Number: 530.0922 C7673
ISBN: 1587659964
Publication Date: 2013-02-08

Cover Art
Contemporary Biographies in Chemistry - Editors of Salem Press
Call Number: 540.922 C7673
ISBN: 1587659972
Publication Date: February 15, 2013

Cover Art
World Food - Mary Ellen Snodgrass
Call Number: 641.303 Sn52
ISBN: 0765682788
Publication Date: 2012-08-03

Cover Art
2013 Children's Writer's and Illustrator's Market - Chuck Sambuchino (Editor)
Call Number: 808 C4376 2013
ISBN: 1599635992
Publication Date: 2012-09-21

Cover Art
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture - Allison Graham (Editor); Sharon Monteith (Editor)
Call Number: 975.003 N4202
ISBN: 9780807871430
Publication Date: 2011-09-12

Cover Art
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture - Larry J. Griffin (Editor); Peggy Hargis (Editor)
Call Number: 975.003 N4202
ISBN: 9780807872321
Publication Date: 2012-07-01

Cover Art
Art and Architecture - Judith H. Bonner (Editor); Estill Curtis Pennington (Editor)
Call Number: 975.003 N4202
ISBN: 9780807837184
Publication Date: 2013-01-14

Reference Librarian

Profile Image
Jennifer Walton
Contact Info
Mack Library - Reference Department
(864) 242-5100 ext. 6015
Send Email
 

Types of Reference Resources

Almanacs

Dictionaries

Directories

Encyclopedias

Handbooks

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip